mind the gap

Pulling into the station

April 02, 2004

Well, I was considering hauling my butt down to Subway for lunch today. However, after reading this... I don't know if I can stomach even a 6" sub. pattianne, I wonder, are they really this twisted in real day-to-day life?

Anyways, another hour passed down the tubes. Yay! That's one hour closer to the weekend, baby.

Some of you may remember my vain attempt at walking the Bay to Breakers last year. Damn my luck, it happened to be the same weekend as the big block sale in my mom's neighborhood and I had already agreed to help her out on both days. Ah, but this year, I was not tied down or signed up to anything on that weekend. At least not when I sent in the bloody form and check. So, if anyone is up for a good laugh, on May 16th, head on over to the finish line and watch me crawl across. Then you can buy me a freakin' margarita or something. And for those of you not in the greater Bay Area or who are oblivious to the grand tradition, Bay to Breakers is an annual race/run/jog/walk/stroll across San Francisco. You start on the Bay side (somewhere over near the Bay Bridge, if I remember correctly) and you end up on the Breakers side (a.k.a. the Pacific Ocean). It's a long walk, yes, but it's supposed to be great fun. And people dress up for this. And in some cases, people don't get dressed at all. (Oh yeah, nudie-runners are normal. Boy, it would suck if you fell down on your...) Will I be in costume? Um... no. I might wear a nice bright pink hat or something equally goofy, but that's it.

So here's my plea: If anyone in the SF area is walking and would like company, let me know. As of today, I'm on my own out there. Well, I have no "buddy" to walk with, but there's hundreds of people doing it.

It's also an excuse to get new shoes and new pants for walking in. Did I mention that it's a 12K? (About 7.46 miles.)

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap