mind the gap

Pulling into the station

April 22, 2004

Here's your American Idol recap for the week:

Barry Manilow songs. Barry still disturbs me. He's creepy.

1 - Diana. "Once Voice." Yeah. One voice. That's all we need to win this competition. One voice. Just not *hers.* Her range sucked - she just couldn't handle the way-down-low notes to high notes like the song requires. She did have a pretty good ending, though, I'll give her that.

2 - George. "Get That Feeling Again." George. Boy. Go take some vitamin C because you're sounding sick again. Okay, he hits the notes, but it's all croaky and just sounds weird.

3 - Jennifer. "Weekend In New England." She's hitting the power notes much, much better these days. A little shakey at the end, but otherwise pretty good. I still hate the hair.

4 - Jasmine. "I'll Never Love This Way Again." Overall, not bad. When she goes for the big, powerful notes she sounds like she's yelling them. Work on that.

5 - LaToya. "All The Time." Like Jasmine, she has problems with those big notes. Except LaToya sounds almost like she's screeching. And I didn't like the song choice. It was bo-oring.

6 - John. "Mandy." I am kicking myself as I say this, but he's getting better. And I saw facial expressions that he hasn't used before. He didn't look too much like a lounge lizard. Weak middle, but he recovered.

7 - Fantasia. "It's A Miracle." Probably one of the best of the night. She gospel-ized it, so she got into the song a lot more. High spirits are always a good way to end a show.

Now, before I get on with the elimination, you should know something. I only saw part of the show. My bathtub is acting up, so I was in there trying to fix it, forgetting that the show was on. Apparently they split the people up into groups again on stage - Group A and Group B. George was left hanging at the commercial break. So when they came back, Ryan told him to go stand with the Top 3 group. George, looking a little unsure, stood with Fantasia, Jennifer, and LaToya. Ryan shakes his head and tells George that he's wrong. You could hear a pin drop, people. There was a collective "WHAT THE..." from every mouth in our house. Even the bird, my friends, squaked. It has to be a joke, we said.

It's no joke. Jennifer was sent home.

Let me remind people how this works... They're looking for a GOOD singer. You're supposed to vote for the people who did well. So next week, so help me God, if those three squeeze through again without being in the bottom three... I am *so* boycotting the show.

Who am I kidding? I'm addicted. I'll be back next week, regardless.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap