mind the gap

Pulling into the station

February 27, 2004

I did promise to get into the Boy-that-almost-was story, didn't I? And I forgot to, didn't I? People keep reminding me about that...

Okay. So in school, there is this boy. And actually, I shouldn't use "boy" - he's not one of the just-out-of-high-school guys that are common in night school now. On the contrary, he's 25. (Oh, yes, people, just about my age.) Not an old man, not a little boy. So what, he's... a guy? Mm-kay. Anyways, a couple of weeks ago, we had this test in class. Our first mid-term (and why do they call it a mid-term when we're not at the mid- point? Just call it a freakin test) of the semester. No one else is there yet, so I'm just chillin', waiting for the room to open up. Then I notice that Boy-who-almost-was has arrived. So we strike up a conversation, about class at first, then on to why do the hoochie-mamas wear those tall heels that they can't walk in, etc. Mind you, we're on the third floor, leaning over the railing watching people run around below. I open my mouth and actually say that sometimes I wish I could drop something on someone down there. Apparently this was funny. And then we heard the door click shut, realized that we'd just missed the start of class. Run in, grab two seats at the back of the class and poke fun at the guy who asks retarded questions. (What kind of camera do you use to get those digital pictures? Do you have to have a computer to use Photoshop? Those kind of questions.) Then after class, we talked in the parking lot for about an hour and a half.

Considering I'd been freakin' depressed for a few months and had just peaked with the lowest of low days not but a week or so beforehand, this person who was making me laugh was a welcome distraction. Sure, I guess that's part of why I was so happy all of a sudden. Okay, a large part. And I'm sure that part of my attraction to the boy-who-almost-was is that he made me smile again in that warm-fuzzy good way. (Psych majors, want to debunk this?)

FF>> to this week. We go out after class for coffee. It was going to be for a beer, however we couldn't think of a place to go that's open late (hrm, apparently Santa Rosa shuts down early, too). Oh and I don't drink beer. Details. A couple other people from class joined us at first, but they left at 10 when the place closed. Boy-that-almost-was and I stayed til nearly 11, just talking away.

And why do I call him the boy-that-almost-was? Because, my friends, while they are few and far in between, I do have scruples / morals / whatever you call them. And he has a girlfriend. (Waits for the collective *Ouch*...) Yeah. Except I told him he should reconsider that.

Me and my big mouth.

So, as it stands right now, I have a new friend. A friend who stares at my boobs and calls me a tease, but a friend none the less.

And if we're playing Trivial Persuit, folks, he's on MY team.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap