mind the gap

Pulling into the station

October 21, 2004

Get some vitamin C tablets, I said.
Make sure they're chewable, I said, because I can't swallow horse pills.
Get the citrus kind, I said.

So I open my big new bottle of chewable vitamin C tabs and what do I find? The stankiest things I've ever smelled. It's like... suntan oil in the form of chewable tablets. "Citrus assortment" includes orange (which is normal), lemon, kiwi, and pineapple. Those four scents should NEVER be mixed together in a bottle. All of the tablets taste like a horrific mixture of the four. I dug out an orange one and chomped it. Nasty. Maybe I'll give them to my aunt - she goes through vitamin C like there's no tomorrow. (I'm going to the GNC outlet today after work and will get the normal kind there. I know those don't taste like Banana Boat on acid.)

It looks like our rain has gone away. At least for now. It's not supposed to rain again til Sunday - and even then, it's only a 20% chance. Oh well. It was fun while it lasted! But this does mean that it should just be cold and foggy tomorrow night when we go to Gyro's! I'm going to get the crap scared out of me, I just know it. The last "haunted house" that I went to was the little Candlelighters one in Fremont. And I went with the cousins, so we had the freakin' good fairy with us. Not a single scream was had. But Jenn's been to Gyro's a couple of times and she's pretty sure that I'll have a scream or ten. And next week? Pirates of Emerson, which I hear is way more rad than Gyro's.

What else? Um, the boss mentioned this morning that he was thinking about buying a house here in town for us to move the operations into. Now, there are loads of benefits to this, in my opinion. We'd have a kitchen, so I could actually bring my lunch and wouldn't have to eat out every day - which would save me oodles of money. We'd have a backyard for the dogs to romp and pee in without anyone of us having to take them out. The boss could have his own office. We could warehouse out of the garage or another bedroom instead of using a storage unit. No more stairs for me to hike up and down all day (my knee will be happy). We'd be lower to the ground and further from the river - no more freaking out every time it rains. We wouldn't need a key to the bathroom (you know, the one that we lose all the time?). And did I mention that Boss could have his own office? But I don't know how serious he is about dropping $600K on a business house. And he said that we have to wait a bit, to see what the contact looks like. (There's a whole lotta shiznit behind that, but the minimum that you need to know is that our 3-year contract is up at the end of the year and I haven't heard if we've been renewed or what the deal is. There are like, 4 different options that they're considering. Thankfully, all of them include me still being employed in California. This is good.)

My shipment of packing stuff just arrived, so I guess I have to go WORK now. *grumble grumble* I pre-printed a bunch of postage, so it isn't actually that bad today. And I'm only saying that so that maybe I'll actually believe it.

2 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap