mind the gap

Pulling into the station

March 15, 2004

I'd like to thank the fellows who invented the Slurpee. Thanks to you guys, I'm here in my chair, shaking like a crack baby, wishing I was outside in the heat because I'm freakin' cold. But it was all worth it.

Let me update you about my recent MIA status. I have a laptop, one my dad's girlfriend gave me. It was her daughter's, but Mel never really used it so... Mine! It's a Dell, circa... 1996. I run Windows 95. I'll wait until you've stopped laughing. Okay, so I have AOL 6.0... Done laughing again? And dial up. (Hey, man, USB ports weren't standard yet.) I have this little connector thingy that plugs into the PC card and my phone line plugs into that. Pretty basic. But for some reason, the connector thingy and the PC card decided that they didn't want to work together, causing me to get kicked off AOL (in the middle of sending a copy of my paper to my teacher, I might add, boy that pissed me off) and not being able to log in again. I called India / AOL and they couldn't figure it out. Well, when I ran all those damn diagnostics and stuff, the modem/PC card/connector thingy all worked just enough to pass the tests. So Mike came over last night and scratched his head over it for a while and then we discovered that my PC card and the connector thingy have to be facing East at all times. Well, not really, but you do have to jiggle them into a slightly cocked angle and then you're all set.

So, now that I know what that problem was all about, I can fix it myself when I get kicked off for a random reason. Aren't you so happy?

My buddies over at Weather.com tell me that it's 88, but feels like 87. With a wind of 5 mph to the SSE. And I thought it wasn't going to be so damn warm again and wore jeans today. And a black shirt. I'm going to be miserable.

I uncovered the greatest soundtrack I ever bought last night. Wayne's World. I'm enjoying the fact that the Boss is deaf right now - he "can't hear thunder" - because I can listen to anything I want and he can't hear it. I could listen to dogs farting to Bach and he wouldn't know it from Babs. I grew weary of Wayne and Garth, however, and have subjected the hearing office peoples to ABBA. Baby, Take a Chance on Me, for I am the Dancing Queen of Waterloo! I think that should be my new name. Similar to Princess Spitting Wedgie with a Duck. *snort* Ah, the things high schoolers do...

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap