mind the gap

Pulling into the station

September 11, 2005

It is almost time to mourn the loss of my dear sweet car, Red. She is quite ill right now and may not make it through the month. *sniff*

I took Red out for a drive today and found that she was making awful noises, knocks and groans, clicks and ticks, things that should not be coming from beneath the hood. So there is either a family of mice living in her engine or she is about to die on me. I also noticed that the driver's side front tire has worn away on the inner half, as though it is in fact rubbing up against something. I can only assume that this is because of being hit by that fuckwad. I brought her back here, parked her in the street and cried for a minute.

It's a silly attachment, stupid and materialistic. But you have to understand - this car? Was mine. 110% mine. I paid every dime of it. True, I didn't obsess over her like some people do with their cars - yes, her paint is ghetto and yes, she's got some issues that could be fixed (if I had the money to do so). But that doesn't mean that I don't love that stupid car. Yes, I will be very sad when I sign the pink slip away to someone else. Label me a dork.

I bought Red in 1999. I've run Red hard - many trips from the Bay Area to San Diego and back, moving, trips to Weaverville and back, moving... moving... We've seen two new clutches put in (told you I ran her hard) and new brakes. We've been hit by an SUV and by... some asshole that didn't stick around. We've also cruised the Pacific Coast Highway, I-5, and 101 through the redwoods. We've had dates in the car, we've had the kids in the car, we've had dogs in the car. I learned how to drive a stick in Red. I mastered that art of driving with your knees while you eat your burger and navigate the parking lot in Red. I've sat on her roof and watched the sun drop down into the water.

I have $500 in cash in my purse. Part of that was supposed to pay my tuition bill. I found a 1994 Saturn on CraigsList today. The owner is moving to NYC and can't take the car. It's in good shape. $2,000. I'm 1/4 of the way there. If he hasn't sold the car by next week, I'm going to ask my boss for a loan. Then... Then I'll have to sell my baby. My Red.

You may stop and laugh now, but I am starting to get all teary about this. But I love my car and I will be heartbroken when I have to say good-bye to her.

1 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap