mind the gap

Pulling into the station

December 01, 2003

And now, for the Thanksgiving Weekend round-up...

Wednesday: Okay, lets not lie, the party started as soon as I left work. No work for four days? Yeah baby! I got home and Roomie was back with her buddy-o Adam. (He was in from Floriday for Turkey day.) We all went to Safeway when Boyfriend got home. Yes, folks, we were suicidal. Safeway was a madhouse. But we survived. I made sketti and garlic bread for dinner and fun was had by all.

Turkey Day (a.k.a. Thursday): I got up, futzed around for a while, waved bye-bye to everyone as they left to go to Pacifica. Watched some TV... Eventually, I got around to getting showered and stuff. Even dried my hair. I know, I never do that. Anyways. I got to Dad's house almost an hour early, so I sat around watching football (eeeew) til he was ready to roll... I mean, ready to go. We made it to Salida by abour 4:30. My dad brought CDs with pictures on them from his trip to New Orleans and stuff, so we looked at those while dinner was getting finished up. For Turkey Day dinner, we had Grandma, Dad, Tio Juan, Auntie Deb, Chris, Amy, and me. Woooo. Oh, and the dog, Rusty. The turkey was uber-yummy and Auntie Deb made her pan peans again. I love those damn peas. For someone who hates all veggies except corn (pretty much), I could eat a whole big bowl of those peas and be perfectly happy.

Turkey Night: I drove from Dad's house to Mom's - no point in my driving back home and then back to Mom's on Friday, you know? Russ was getting the turkey ready for the cooker (he slow roasted that damn bird out on his smoker...) I stayed up with Russ til about 1 - we watched Food TV and wondered if the 24 hour Safeway or Albertsons would be open again at midnight so we could get wine for the marinade... The gas-station that doesn't close (you know, like 7-11) had wine that was $9.99 -- the very same wine that was only $1.99 a year ago. Same bottles. Really.

Friday: Woke up late (yay!) and played with mom's dog for a while. When my mom got back from breakfast with Grandma and Poppa, she and I went to a shop in Pleasanton and I got some Christmas presents. Then we came back and rushed to get dinner made. I made the mashed potatos. And dammit, they were good. We had Mom, Grandma, Poppa, Aunt Holly, Em, Jake, Lissa, Miki, Lexi, Jules, Jenn, Russ, Gracie and me. WHEW. Plus three dogs: Schnitzel, Cowboy, and Skeezix. It was a full house, but we all crammed in at the table!! Woohoo!

Friday night: Drove home to find Roomie, Boyfriend, Adam, Danielle, Sharon, Brennaaaaa!!, Marty, Amanda, and John (Amanda's boyf) all getting shitfaced. I joined in by finishing off the bottle of peppermint schnapps - 7 shots. Whoooooo I was dra-izzunk, yo.

**Random thought: I need a cool umbrella. Some guy walked by with one of those artsy ones with a cool picture on it. I have a red one that folds up. I want a pretty one, too.**

Saturday: I went with Danielle and Marty to get Danielle's nails done. Then we went to Baja Fresh to bug Sharon... and to eat lunch, if you want to get all technical and stuff. Danielle had to work, so Marty and I grabbed a newspaper and went through the rental listings. We found some, but seeing as how it was a holiday weekend, we didn't have much luck getting a hold of anyone. We said F*** it and went to the mall to harass Danielle at her work and to get Marty some job apps. We were successful in both of those missions.

Saturday night: Roomie's little sister swallowed a quarter (I don't know how) so Boyfriend and I drove down to see her at the hospital, arriving just as they were all leaving. She swallowed it into her tum and was released to go home. Poor thang. Since she was bouncy and pretty good to go, Roomie, Adam, Boyfriend and I went to Denny's while Roomie's family went home. Then we all went home. I nearly puked on the ride down there, so the whole time I was feelin' queasy. I was still icky when we got home, and I think I pretty much passed out.

Sunday: Futzed around, watched some History Channel International, snoozed... Then Danielle and I took Marty home. It was a long drive, but it was fun. We listened to Something Corporate the whole time, but I only heard "Space" like, 3 times. Hee hee. Anyways, I made us inside out burgers for dinner and Boyfriend ate two of them!

And that... is... it. I am pooped. It was busier than it sounds, you know?

Work is going pretty busy today - the phones are ringing off the hook! People keep placing holiday orders. Shame on them! (Hee hee, just kidding, we LIKE the orders to come in... Means I get a freakin' bonus.)

And I registered for school this morning. Beginning Painting, Comparitive Mythology, and Adobe Photoshop. Artsy fartsy this semester, huh? Me, painting? Oh God, I'm going to make a huge mess! (I was going to take pottery, so be glad that wasn't available in my location or time slots.) I'll sell my artwork for a billion dollars... or $10. Whatever.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap