mind the gap

Pulling into the station

February 13, 2004

Briefly...

Sorry I haven't gone into detail regarding this round of American Idol. Too many names, too little talent.

Wednesday revealed the first two contestants: Fantasia Barrino and Diana DeGarmo. Not my two votes, but who am I to say? Although I did pick Fantasia. She's got a mixed voice - Macy Gray and Eartha Kitt, rolled into a bit of Tina Turner. My second choice was actually a local girl, Katie Webber. She didn't impress me much during the regualr auditions, but I thought her "Orange Colored Sky" performance on Tuesday was really good. Diana... While I'll agree that she's got a strong voice, I think she's got to get a hold of it. I know she's been singing for people for 11 years and all, but her voice seems to get away from her a little bit. But hey, anything can happen, right?

Next week, not one but three local girls go up. Lisa Leuschner, Marisa Joy, and Kara Master. The Roman brothers - Jesus and Noel - joined by Matthew Rogers, Camile Velasco, and Briana Ramirez-Rial will duke it out for the next two spots. I think my favorites going into this round are Marisa (of Cloverdale!) and Matt (Rancho Cucamonga). In all honesty, Briana scares the crap out of me and the Roman brothers are just out and out disturbing.

To sum it up: Fantasia Barrino and Diana DeGarmo are first in. Next week, 8 more voices - two will make it.

Sorry to be so short and... blah... but these rounds aren't as fun as the next. It's easier to critique when you've gotten to know a contestant!

Til next week!

Aloha!

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap