mind the gap

Pulling into the station

June 24, 2005

First of all, thank you Dave for reminding me about the counter. Big fat DUH on me right there...

I've been looking into that fundoplication surgery and I think that I am going to ring up the referring doctor and make an appointment to talk about the surgery. I had to call in sick yesterday because I was vomiting up acid. (Gross, I'm sorry.) I have never, ever had to miss work because of the acid before. (And I don't mean the drug acid, you freaks - I mean gastric acid or heartburn.) I have tried everything - change of diet, meds, natural remedies. Nothing is helping. I refuse to live off Rolaids and bread for the rest of my life. If the problem has remained the same after ten years, despite treatment and all that stuff... For now, I just want to get some questions answered. Like...
* What happens if I get food poisoning or the flu, when I would normally vomit to expell stuff? How does that work? (See also Morning Sickness.)
* What happens when I get pregnant? Will the baby cause the valve to malfunction?
* How many times can you do the procedure, should it not take the first time?
* What is the success rate, really?
* Can I eat solid foods right away or will I be on the baby-food diet for a couple of weeks?

And of course, I still have to talk to the Boss about it - taking two weeks off is a big thing. I've only taken a week off before, never more than that. And then an additional 6 weeks of no lifting?

I know it sounds more negative than positive, but if I opt to do this, there is a chance that I will never have to take another Prilosec, Protonix, Pepcid or Rolaids again. When you're taking 4 pills a day, plus half a roll of Rolaids, this is a great thought.

2 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap