mind the gap

Pulling into the station

March 04, 2005

I hate the Migrane Fairy. She can be a real ho sometimes. Here I was, sitting at my desk, minding my own business when *WHAM* she smacks me upside the head. God, I hate her. Well, the good news is that today is Friday. And that means that in about 3 hours, I get to go home. Home to Isometh and earplugs.

My Amazon order arrived today. I ordered on Wednesday. As in, two days ago. Media Mail is kickin' ass these days, I take it. (Oh, it shipped from Nevada. That explains it. My last Amazon order shipped from New Jersey and took like two weeks. Apparently the cargo train it was on derailed and when the package arrived, it had investigation stamps on it.)

The book I ordered is "Before the Knife" by Carolyn Slaughter. I bought her "Dreams of the Kalahari" about... 10 years ago? (Holy crap. That's a long time.) Anyways, that book was the first book I that I read that made me want to go to Africa. This is going to sound really hokey, but I really felt the book. There was just something about it, you know? But anyways, this "Before the Knife" is actually her memoirs, not a work of fiction. So I'm really looking forward to reading about her early life in Botswana - even if it looks like her dad does some nasty things to her. [/cheeseball babble]

I have got to get myself over to the storage unit to get posters. It's raining. I don't waaaaanna go. But at least it's quiet in there. And dark, come to think of it... Better than the office with it's flickering lights!

1 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap