mind the gap

Pulling into the station

August 08, 2005

I don't understand boys. Not in the slightest. Dave, is it just straight guys, or do gay men do this too?

Two days ago, the Boy left to go run a quick errand for his mom. (Remember, his mom is quite sick and can't take herself to the store, pharmacy, etc. She's not been doing so well with the chemo lately.) "I'll be about a half an hour, okay?" This was Saturday. I'm still waiting. I'm trying to be patient. I really am. But for the love of all that is good and evil, is it so hard to pluck the cellphone off your hip and call me? I'm not asking for too much, am I? Maybe I am. I don't really know.

I was standing in the bathroom yesterday, dying my hair, and I realized that this is the first time I've really dated since the 90s. When you say it that way, it makes me feel old and really out of touch. I also realized that I'm going to need to bleach my hair if I ever want to get it really light. By the way, Feria has a decent lightener for uber dark hair. It took two boxes (what? I have thick hair!) but Shawna says that my hair is lighter. I think I can sort of see it. Cool.

Anyone recall my Fly Killer days? I have a new persona. Ant Thrasher. Yes. Ants, fear me. I come armed for battle with cinnamon, hair spray, Lysol wipes and a vacuum cleaner. Bitches, don't even think about invading my room again. I came home on Saturday (having been gone since Thursday) only to find that ants had decided to take up in my bedroom. I literally put my bags down on the bed and started smooshing ants left and right. Armed with hairspray, I managed to find one source - the damn window. See, I think when Bess started really going to town in the backyard last week, she must have pissed off some ants. They've moved into the house now. My window being their first entry. Dammit. Yesterday, I came back from Target to find the little fuckers crawling along the baseboards. I don't think so. Did you know that ants don't like Lysol? Just so you know. I wiped those baseboards clean, vacuumed up the stragglers, and planted not one, but four of those ant traps along the wall. I know, my karma is seriously fucked for this lifetime. But do you know how icky ants are? When you see them, you start to feel them on your skin. *shudder* It's so freakin' nasty. I also killed four spiders in the process... Those were on accident. Well, three were. That 4th one was big, black, and scary. (He was also right above my bed. Hell no. This is why God invented flip-flops. Smoooooosh.)

I think I've decided to go to the zoo for my birthday. Now I have to decide which one - San Francisco or Oakland...

1 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap