mind the gap

Pulling into the station

November 05, 2003

Once upon a time, there was a desk. It was a white desk, made of solid MDF and laminate. (Oh Ty, Amy, Handy Andy, and Andrew, you would be so happy.) The desk was a special corner desk, in the shape of an 'L'. In the midsection of the desk, there was a slide-out tray. Upon this tray, workers could rest their keyboard and mouse. It was a simple desk, no flare, no character.

The desk got upset with the slide-out drawer and threw it off the tracks. The tracks stuck out from the underbelly of the desk and suddenly the desk became quite deadly. Anything that came near the tracks were in danger. The tracks had sharp edges and were thirsty for blood. They would nip and tug at the legs of the workers, taunting them mercilessly.

Then one day, an innocent worker sat down and was attacked by the vicious track. The track tore her jeans as it bit into her leg. The blood welled up and the worker ran away.

** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** **

Like my story? It's true. I finally ripped my jeans and cut my leg on the desk today. The bloody part of the gash is only about an inch long, but the redness extends out to make the whole thing maybe two inches. Tops. It's not that deep, but holy crap, it stings. Boyfriend went out and got his first aid kit and cleaned it up - the tracks have grease on them from the ball bearings so there was grease and dirt in the gash. Yummy. It hurts, it hurts, it hurts, and yes, I am a wussy when it comes to pain.

It's gloomy today. I was half-assed raining this morning. And yup, friggin' cold again. And again, I bundled up in my sweatshirt, coat and scarf. Boyfriend made me a cup of hot cocoa in the travel mug to take with me, so I was happy warm inside even if I was freezing my skin off.

I got "Finding Nemo" last night on DVD and watched that. It was my first time. It's also the first Pixar that I did NOT see in the theater. I know, I feel like poo-poo, but I just never got a chance to go. Anyways, it was cute! They still need to work on their people, though - the people get uglier and uglier. Or maybe they do that for a reason... Boo (from "Monsters Inc") is the cutest people by Pixar yet.

Okay, okay, I have to go take these packages to UPS. Then I have to get lunch. Then... THEN I'll be back. Yay. Wish me luck!

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap