mind the gap

Pulling into the station

December 02, 2003

I wish I was a gymnast.

I went out to my car to get my CDs and the walkway looked so inviting... If I were a gymnast, I would have stepped up and tumbled my way down the walkway. I've always wanted to be able to do that. Sometimes, I'll be walking along and the urge will hit to do these handsprings and stuff. Except for the fact that I can't do them... Details. I mean, damn, I could do summersaults when I was little, but that was about the extent of my tumbling. Once I did a backwards summersault. I was hot shit for like, two minutes til Stephanie P did two of them in a row. Bitch.

But I was kickass on the bars, let me tell you. I ruled the Thomas Jefferson bars back in the day. Single and parallel, thank you.

My dad played baseball and basketball in school and was a ref at Cal State Hayward for basketball. My mom's family... swimming and soccer. Boy, then I came along. What a mess. I couldn't master simple ballet, how was I supposed to play sports?! While everyone else was born to swim (drop them in the water and Martins swim naturally), I to this day do not swim with my face in the water. I do not dive. I do not hold my freakin' breath underwater. I can swim, but I look pretty retarded when I do. I was not bad at volleyball, though -- Jenny and I were on a team once. And I picked up enough soccer from school and stuff that I coached those two brats I was a nanny for when they played summer league soccer. Okay, you know, come to think of it, I didn't do so bad in PE when we played soccer. I was a damn good goalie.

Anyways, the point is, I am not athletically talented in any way shape or form.

Girls Night is changing. Now that Joe Millionaire is over (boo), Danielle and I have agreed on the new FOX horror... "The Simple Life." (If you haven't heard of this one, please climb back under the rock you've been under for the past month.) This changes our day from Monday to Tuesday. We also discovered a mutual interest in Yoga for Dummies (and Pilates for Dummies). So tonight, I'm grabbing my mat and my video and we're going to *yoga* ourselves into a peaceful, relaxed state of being. Then watch rich girls live on a farm.

I would like to share just more little fact:

I have the attention span of a fly today.

I went to the cafe on the corner (okay, the coffee shop) and got a sandwich for lunch. Turkey and provalone on a french roll with mayo and spicy mustard, crushed black pepper (oh yum) and onions. Well, onions are skankadelic so I took those off and tossed them in the garbage can. The sandwich was soooooo delish. I want another one. Now. Anyways, the dog ate half the damn onions out of the garbage. His breath is ten times worse and don't get me started on his fartin' butt. **shudders** Trust me, it's not pretty.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap