mind the gap

Pulling into the station

December 02, 2003

So I was at Danielle's tonight (duh) and she picked up her Bible to look for some verses for her Boyf. She says "because I love Jesus and Boyf loves Jesus, too, you know?" and then she asks if I love Jesus too.

Well.

Here comes the hard part of my belief system... trying to explain it to someone. Especially someone who loves Jesus as much as some of my friends tend to.

I was raised Baptist/Presbyterian/you name it. Went to Sunday School and all that -- VBS, too. My grandma worked in a Christian bookstore my entire life, until last year when she "retired." I know me some Jesus.

However, since I stopped going to services on a regular basis, I've found other ways to spend my God time. I've explored other religions and have come to a spiritual agreement with the Big Guy that I'm not going to be *this* or *that* because those don't quite fit me. I sat down once with a bunch of books and websites and studied things from different points of view.

Turns out, I lean towards the Jewish beliefs. Go figure.

So how do I explain to people that I believe in God but I don't quite believe that Jesus is the Messiah, you know? Eeerrrggghhh. I answer stright to God when it comes to me and my sins, I don't go through a middle man. God and I have some in depth convos sometimes, too.

My grandpa, before he died, told us that he wanted our pastor to do his funeral. My grandpa never went to church a day in his life that I know of. But he was very much a spiritual man. He said that he and God worked it out on their own and that he didn't need any songs or Sunday preachin' to love or be loved by God. Pastor Tapley did the service and called my grandpa Brother Curly, too - that was usually saved for longtime church members. I guess the pastor figured grandpa was a lifer with God, so why not?

But anyways. I tried to briefly explain this to Danielle and she just nodded and said that's good, I'm glad you love God too. That makes me happy. I'm accepted for being a religious mutt.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap