mind the gap

Pulling into the station

September 20, 2004

So here's the dealy-o:

I got to work this morning and the office is locked up and dark. That's strange, I think to myself as I do the magical key dance to make the door open. No boss. I check my e-mail, voice-mail, boss' computer, fax machine... no messages. So I call the ex and tell him that Boss is AWOL. Ex tells me that he was calling in sick today. My reply? Oh Eff. Then the boss calls - he had a meeting in SF this morning that he totally forgot about, but he was leaving the city right then and would be here in about an hour. Okay.

Next up: We can't process credit cards. Which means that we can't process orders. Which means that I can't get this overnight package shipped out to the Queen Bitch of New Jersey. Oh shiza. Turns out that the software that we use got invaded by a virus and it's blocking some users from accessing the system - and we're one of those lucky blocked out ones. So then we call our producer at the company that hosts us and find out that our producer left the company. Hey, thanks for telling us!

And because that isn't quite enough to make us jump out the windows... We open up our e-mail and find about 80 price changes. No, not just any price changes. These are totally retarded changes. The bizzatch who is asking for all these changes is being a... I can't use that word on here. She's being a total anal ho about the whole thing. For some reason, she has decided that the best way to resolve the pricing issues is to cancel the whole order, make us fix the price and reissue the order. Instead of us just going into the order and fixing the price. Because that would be too easy. So Boss calls the Other Boss and they duke it out - again - over this problem. (They did this last week, too.) The Other Boss tries to change the subject about a million times and Boss finally hangs up on him.

So, to quote my boss, "Other than that, Mrs Lincoln, how did you like the play?"

It did rain this weekend. And it was wonderful! I was at Danielle's house when it first started and I stayed awake listening for a long time. The cat climbed up the screen and pressed her belly out so she was getting a little wet. She hissed at me when I plucked her off the screen, though. Freakin' cat - she hates getting a bath, but adores the rain. Whatever. In the morning, we went to breakfast and it smelled so clean! It rained some more off and on all day - my car got clean (free car wash!), my plants got watered, and I got to jump in a puddle. There are some nice icky clouds out there right now, but I don't think they're going to get us wet.

Also in the good news section: I found my glasses. Boss is going away to Atlanta for the rest of the week. I have a new love at Starbucks - Passionfruit Tea Lemonade. I am going to buy a new pair of shoes. My birthday is in 10 days. Today was payday and payroll was ON TIME.

Right, so back to the day that started off crappy. I was so mad at the two nimrods that I work with that I really wanted to find some random guy and kick him in the nads. Displaced agression. Thankfully, once I got back from lunch with my Garlic salad (chicken Ceaser, with extra gahlick), I no longer felt like using gonads as punching bags. Then boss hooks up his web-cam. And aims it right ova'heeyah. Swell. I haven't decided if this is a bad thing (can't pick'n'flick - ew j/k) or a good thing (it's got a time stamp so he'll know...oh he'll know).

And since when is U2 "classic rock"?! "All I Want Is You" was from '88. That's hardly classic, people. I'm going to go write to the radio station and complain now. Must defend U2, who are not ever getting old enough to be considered classic.

3 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap