mind the gap

Pulling into the station

December 22, 2004

The Christmas spirit is lost on me this year. Just call me Madame Scrooge. I think I'm more stressed out at work this year than in all of my years working at the mall combined. Even the Brian Setzer Orchestra can't cheer me up.

I brought the dogs their new toys today. Two of those squeaky tires with ropes attached for good tug-o-war fun. Watson sniffed and then sat up for a belly scratch. Gee, thanks to you too. Trapper, on the other hand, nearly peed himself. Two?! TWO toys?! And this time they fit in his mouth (the other one was a bit too big - he couldn't tug-o-war very well with it). It's been great fun. He nearly whacked Anna in the head with one earlier. (If you don't pay attention to him, he'll toss things around. The longer the item in question is, the more likely it is that you'll get hit with it.) And I just spent more time than I normally would on the floor playing with him. He's passed out somewhere right now, with both tires tucked under his fat ass.

I have a theory about the New Year's resolution this year. You know how you always make the resolution, but hardly anyone ever sticks with it? (Yeah, how many times have we said no more drinking / no more smoking / no more espresso / gym every day / lose 10 pounds? Mmmmhm.) I'm thinking that maybe if I make a resolution like "I will gain 25 pounds in 2005" that I will fail and have the opposite occur. Or this could be the one year that I actually stick to the resolution.

Tomorrow is faux-Friday. And hopefully we'll close up early. I have one last chance at getting some Christmas cheer. And that lies in the cold steely bowl of my Kitchen Aid mixer. *angels singing* Yes, I have much love for my beautiful stand mixer. The beautiful magical cookies that we make together should help save this Christmas.

Oh and I'm supposed to make a batch of fudge for my cousin using his special no-milk milk. Lactaid? Something like that. Ew.

I just put my bag of pretzels into my desk drawer. Apparently I was wrong to do so. I now have both dogs licking my desk drawer trying to get one. Gross.

Merry Almost Christmas.

1 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap