mind the gap

Pulling into the station

January 07, 2005

So last night I was cleaning up my bookcase and found this folder of old comic strips and stuff from way back when. I found my final Calvin & Hobbes strip, by the way. A little crinkled on one corner, but I think I can still save it. But the find of the night was the bundle of Inquierers.

The Irvington Inquierer was our school's newspaper in the 93/94 school year. (By the time I arrived on the staff in 95, it went back to the Viking Voice, which is what it had been called for like, 30 years until someone (Dana) got ahold of it. Bitch. But anyways.) I'm not sure which was funnier - the movie on TV or the articles in the newspaper. It's a toss up, really. I'll be the first to admit that yes, our newspaper wasn't the highest quality or most intellegent publication known to mankind. However, looking back on these old issues, I'm realizing that half the staff was indeed stoned the entire time.

Back then, anyone could pay a buck and get an inch on the back page in the space we allocated for "chatterboxes." Most of the time, people put in stuff like "HunyBoo 143 XOXO GoW/Me2Prom 143 143 XO UrSxe" and other such bullcrap. However, since it was also a space filler for those slow months, the staff would stick a few of their own in. Who the eff came up with the whole "M-O-O-N spells..." crap? "M-O-O-N spells jeremy and j0zee and br0nc0 billy's." WTF? And then... then came the Tomato wars. Every so often, in super large print (so you know they paid like, $5 for this) would be TOMATOS RULE! or TOMATOS SUCK! By the time I took over Chatterboxes, the red fruit war had ended. Or so I thought. I think one or two slipped in my senior year. For old times sake, you know? But really, what the hell were these people thinking? Apparently I missed a lot while I was studying in the library...

This isn't saying that we didn't have our little oddball "inside jokes," though. No... Lisa and I had Henry and Herbie (I was Herbie), there was the Great Orange Pen, Calvin (I think I mentioned Calvin before - my 10 pound 'baby'... he was kind of adopted as the paper's kid that year).

And the Howard Stern Incident.

Whoops, our system is back up and running - I have to go back to work. Gotta use it while we have it, you know? According to the weatherman, this "storm" is supposed to be knocking out power this weekend. Goody goody.

See you on Monday!

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap