mind the gap

Pulling into the station

November 03, 2004

Holy eff...
There was sunshine and blue skies not 10 minutes ago. Now we have rain, thunder & lightning, and hail. And I mean deafening elements - I have to shout to ask my boss a question and he's only three feet away. (God bless tin buildings.) I'm guessing that the construction guys at the end of the street are pretty pissed right now. The ground just got dry enough to get back to work and now an unexpected downpour. Sucks to be them. But anyways, I have control over the elements if you ask the Boss and the Ex. We were watching the rain and the ex thought he saw a flash. I said, um yeah, you didn't hear the thunder from the last one? And right then, as soon as I shut my mouth, the thunder rolled from the flash he saw. Twas perfect timing, and shall never be repeated again. (I tried to call up some wind, but my powers have fled.)

So Ross Perot didn't win the election again. I'm sad about it. I mean, really, how many times do I have to vote for the guy before he gets put in the Oval Office? (And you should know by now that I didn't actually vote for him, but I seriously considered a write in. Viva la Perot!) I'm not thrilled with the chosen one, but it could be worse. It could be... Al Gore. Now THAT man gives me the heebie-geebies. Invented the internet my ass. But locally, the folks that I voted for won (Nordin, the twit, came in 4th) and the measures that I really was into went the way I hoped they would. Even if the White House isn't staffed quite the way I'd like it, the local folk are alright by me.

Does anyone else predict a mass exodus to Canada? Hmm. I'm considering England or Australia. Speaking of Australia... I learned a nifty little tid-bit about the elections down under. Apparently, if you are registered to vote and if you don't vote on election day, your ass gets fined. I'm thinking that maybe this is what we need to do here. I have only missed one election in my voting "career" - the last local one. And that was only because I didn't know when it was.

Remember how my boss mentioned buying a house here for us to move the business into? When we went to storage today, we took a detour and drove by some houses for sale up on 4th and 5th streets. And he made me write down telephone numbers and grab fliers. I guess this means that the contract talks are going well. The houses that we were checking out are little bungalow (or kit) homes. You know, like the ones they used to sell in Sears Robuck back in the 20's and stuff? One of them looks a lot like the house my dad lives in.

Boss just came back inside from taking the dogs out to pee. Good lord they stink. Wet dog, NOT my favorite scent by Calvin Klein.

Now, don't hurt me, but I'm starting Christmas/Holiday shopping this weekend. If you're on my list, you'd better tell me what you want otherwise it's a box of tampons or glow in the dark bandaids for you. (That's what I tell my cousins when they hrm and ha about what they want for their birthdays.)

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap