mind the gap

Pulling into the station

March 30, 2004

Here's the teacher lecturing about Egyptian Goddesses and then about Jesus, Mary, and Mary Magdalen.

Here's Nelson, Sarah and Jessie wondering why the hell their parents made them go to Sunday School of Bent Truths for so many years. And here we are again feeling like we've just been bitch slapped by God.

When the mythology rips open stories from the bible, I always leave thinking, "Pastor Tapley lied!" Weren't we always told that Mary Magdalen was a prostitute and that Jesus saved her? But have you ever seen a passage in the bible where it actually says "Mary Magdalen was gettin' it on with all the men in town for a couple benjamins?" Nuh-uh. For whatever reason, she's made out to be a prostitute, but it's never actually written that she is one. And if you look at other cultures happening in the same millenia... You know how in "Dogma," Chris Rock plays Rufus, the black apostle? And how he was left out because he was black? Well, apparently it's being explored now that Mary Magdalen was a female apostle or even a co-messiah with Jesus. And to make matters worse for us poor souls in a tug-of-war with religion, when Mary Magdalen was exiled and went to France (don't remember *that* in the Bible, do you), Sarah la Kali traveled with them. And who was Sarah? Rumored to be Mary and Jesus' daughter.

Because I wasn't confused enough already...

In other news, my car needs oil. In a really bad way. Like, pattianne, the amount of oil I have to buy could fund a trip to Viva Las Vegas and back. Well, not really, but it seems like it. It's a lot of freakin' oil. Oil and gas, oil and gas, don't forget to stop for oil and gas.

And I kinda forgot to eat dinner last night. I had a coffee and a peanut butter cookie at about 5:30 last night at the La La Cafe at school. I sat in the "atrium" and studied while enjoying my cardboard cookie and scalding coffee. By atrium, we mean the glass walled annex to the bookstore / cafe we have on campus. It has eight tables and a ton of chairs. And bird shit on the celing. (On the outside, of course.) But when I got home, I started folding laundry and watching "Wonderfalls" - which I recorded on Friday and forgot about. I just didn't ever get to the kitchen to get food. Shower... yes. Clean clothes... yes. Scary nun exorsising Jaye... yes. Dinner... no.

And speaking of Wonderfalls... You know it's going off air soon, right? Because that's what happens to all the shows I like. My viewing your new show is a curse. Unless you're a reality TV show.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap