mind the gap

Pulling into the station

February 03, 2004

We got our first test back last night in class. Seeing as how it was the first test and no doubt the easiest one of the semester, I got an A. Well, actually, I missed one question but made up that point by answering the bonus question. The answer was manstrual blood. I know, gross, isn't it? Hey, they worshiped all kinds of things back in the day. A donkey peed on a tree? Let's have a festival to celebrate the golden elixer of cleansing! Bah.

Last night I had the shakes. Okay, I had on: thermal pants & sweat pants, a long sleeve t-shirt, a sweatshirt, wool socks, and my jacket. And this was to sleep in. Still freezing cold. I staggered out to the hall to check the temp - 69, a bit warmer than normal.

I can't believe I slept in my jacket.

And guess what I forgot to do yesterday? Eat! Ha ha ha. No, actually, I ate a shitty lunch from 7-11 around one. But I was distracted and didn't stop for anything on the way to class and by the time I got home... I brushed my teeth and passed out on the bed. I think Mike called me at 12:30, something about him being wet and going home now. That's when I layered on the extra clothes. What I should have done is grabbed some food. So now I'm really, really hungry and I'm looking at my drawer full off Cup o' Noodles, hot cocoa, soup, and cider... wishing we had a microwave or a water cooler with hot water. Damn. I did find a $20 bill tucked into one of the pockets in my purse yesterday, so I can eat actual food today instead of 99-cent crap from 7-11. (Made fresh, my ass.) Hooray! I almost stopped at McDonalds on the way in to get a bacon and cheese biscuit for breakfast.

Mc Donalds. Unexplored territory in this, huh? Okay, when I was little, there was a McD's around the corner from our house. My neighbor/friend Michelle, her mom worked there. So, a few times a week, my mom would take me and Michelle up after school and her mom would give us Happy Meals. Oh, baby, I had the cool Happy Meal toys out the yin-yang. Remember the plastic McNuggets that came with a hat and a set of feet? No? Before your time? Oh well. Anyways, we ate there a lot. Then we moved. The McD's that was close to our new house was crappy. The food made me sick. That or I grew up and discovered that I'm all about the Burger King. Slowly, we stopped going to McDonalds except for milkshakes. Because the shakes are still effin' awesome there. Every once in a while, I'll get the wild hair to try a McD's burger. I go, get a burger, eat it, and remember why I don't do that very often. And then I'll try the nuggets, which are fine for an occational treat. But it's the breakfast menu that makes me happy. I am in love with the bacon and cheese biscuits. Gimme two of those and an OJ and I'm set til two.

On that note, I'm going to ask boss if I can go to lunch now.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap