mind the gap

Pulling into the station

February 01, 2005

Would you mind if I just sat here for a few minutes and cried? I went for the hearing test today - no big whoop, right? I came out fighting back tears, my ears are hurting so bad right now. (My right ear is A-Okay, but it looks like the tube inside on the left side is being a punkass and isn't sending the air up to make the little pea thing the correct pressure, hence the excruciating pain. And basically, there's jack shit they can do about that right now.) I think it was the headphones clamped over my ears emitting horrific beeeeeps and booooops and othere bizarre tones, all at different volumes. Instead of an ice-pick being jammed into my ears, I now have a whole football team stabbing me all over my head.

And as if I wasn't feeling bad enough, I just got told that I shouldn't be working here because, as a woman, I don't know anything about cars or how to run a business. (By a customer, not the Boss.) What do I say to that? Sorry I'm not a retired old fuckface like you, but I do know my business and frankly, you don't need to be a part of it. "I'm working harder than you are on this problem." Bull. What the fuckface doesn't know is that I have a trail miles long of notes about his order. I'm really fucking sorry that our warehouse folk are retarded, okay, but I'm trying really hard to fix it. "Well, when can I expect these things, June? Maybe by next Christmas?" At this rate, never, because I'm *this* close to canceling the missing items off your order. So sir, take your New York attitude and shove it up your fat retired ass and realize that women might actually be worth more than just your dinner and sex.

The only upside to this day so far is the fact that the audiology doctor was very nice and she (yes, SHE - oh no, another professional woman!) explained things to me so that I actually understood it all. So what if she had to use the little kids picture-book...

I probably shouldn't have blasted my stereo so loud on the way back. I just thought about that. Oops.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap