mind the gap

Pulling into the station

September 13, 2004

Today is not a good day. And it's only 9:30 in the morning. I think the phones are messed up again, but I am not going to say anything yet. Is that wrong? Because I really, really don't want to listen to people right now. It's their voices. Today it's like little tiny daggers stabbing me in the ear. And this one woman keeps coming in through my personal extention to ask me the same question over and over. How many times do I have to tell you, lady, WE DON'T DO COD!!! The answer isn't going to change if you call and ask me again.

Oh no. The ex bought a camera phone. Crap. A favorite past-time of his is chasing me around with a camera. I h-a-t-e having my picture taken. With a purple passion. Especially at 9 o'clock in the morning when I really haven't even gone to the bathroom to finish doing the make up. I look like crap. If you're going to take my picture for your caller ID, you could at least wait until I've finished waking up. Otherwise, you're going to get a big, fat picture of my middle finger. Although, that is my usual greeting...

The weekend went well. My uncle from Viva Las Vegas flew out on Friday night (which I didn't know about until Friday - sneaky Holly). Not as many people came as we'd hoped, though - one of her friend's son tried to play stuntman and broke his foot or something like that so she coudln't come down. (Matty is 4? He's always running into things, breaking things, getting a cast... You know, usual boy antics.) But the drinks were strong and I got a bit fuzzy. I found out that I'm not so good at eating macaroni salad while under the influence. Those little tiny macaronis just can't get on the fork for some reason! Bastards.

Anyways, I ended up babysitting yesterday. How did that happen?! Suddenly everyone was gone except for the younger brats. Hello? I still have to drive home and it's getting late! Julie wanted to watch this Casper cartoon and I couldn't remember how to work the VCR. So she sat down at the table with me and told me about her pet tiger. The amazing thing is not that she has a pet tiger (or so she thinks) but that she sat down and talked to me. On her own. For like, five minutes. Of course, it took her two days to finally come up to me without hanging on to grandma for dear life.

Is it just me or is it really windy today? Weather.com says 6 m.p.h. winds, but... I'm going to disagree. (X gets the square.) Oh hey, it says that we might be getting some rain on Sunday! Rock on. Who's up for some puddle jumping?

I'm going to go take a quick nap in the bathroom (peace and quiet). Then I'm going to consider replacing my phone, which I dropped this morning. My phone makes a mess when it hits the floor. It still works. Mostly. This was my present to myself last year - a new phone. Maybe I'll buy myself a new phone this year, too. Maybe one with a camera so I can chase people around...

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap