mind the gap

Pulling into the station

September 30, 2004

I had such a nightmare this morning, I actually woke myself up screaming. So here it goes...
I was alone in the office - I think people were out to lunch, but one of the dogs was laying under boss' desk. Someone knocked on the door and thinking it was a delivery person, I told them to come in. It wasn't a delivery person, it was this customer who was pissed off about an e-mail that we'd sent him. I tried to explain to him that we had to clairfy his address because the way he had entered it, it had messed up all of his information. He started screaming and yelling at me. I told him that he needed to leave, that he could e-mail us the information back but he needed to leave. He moved toward me, still yelling about how lame our site is, how it can't even read a simple address. I grabbed an empty poster tube because he was starting to really scare me. He grabbed two tubes with posters in them and started swinging them at me. I started screaming for help, but no one was there, everyone was out to lunch. I ran for the door, but he got in my way and hit me with the poster tubes over and over. Then I don't know why, but he walked out of the office and the door shut behind him. I ran over and flipped the lock and ran back to my desk to call 9-1-1. But instead of 9-1-1, I dialed 3-1-1 and got something about soccer mom support groups. I tried to hang up, but the line wouldn't disconnect. So I used my cell phone and called 9-1-1. While I'm trying to get an operator, I see the guy's feet under the door. Now, in real life, there is no window above or next to the door - but there were windows there in the dream. Just so you know. Then I see him in the window above the door, trying to climb in. He's so large, however, that he can't get through. Then he drops something into the room - okay, it's just one of the poster tubes. I look in my purse and see a thing of mace, so I grab that and run over to the door to spray the guy. He sees me on the phone and starts screaming about how I'd better not be calling the cops! Then I notice that the window next to the door had been smashed in. One of the guys that works in the office across the hall was walking by and I yelled to him to help me, help me, please. He looked at me, at the guy trying to get in through the door, and at the broken window. He went into his office and I could see him reach for the phone, but then his door closed. I look down for some reason and see these huge spiders crawling up the filing cabinet. I scream (because that's what I do when I see huge fuzzy spiders) and start whacking at them with tubes. The man laughs at me, ha ha those are west African taranchulas, you'll die if they bite you, and I've released 1,000 of them! Ha ha ha! I'm freaked out right now, beyond belief. The dog finally moves, but only to yawn and shift positions. I try to run to my desk but now something is blocking me and I'm stuck by the door with 1,000 icky fuzzy spiders crawling all over the place and 9-1-1 on the phone asking if I want to buy some mints to support the local fire station.
That's when I wake up screaming. I know, the job is getting to me big time right now. Can you tell?
I bought some Frank's Red Hot (or whatever it's called) last night and made me a buffalo chicken patty on the George. Oh how I missed that buffalo goodness. So spicy, so yummy... so potent. No more stuffed nose, though.

1 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap