mind the gap

Pulling into the station

February 05, 2004

I remember when I was little, we used to have tacos once a week. I'd have mine with some beans, cheese, hamburger, and ketchup. When I look back on the meal now, I think "what the hell was I thinking?" Ketchup on tacos? Did anyone else do that? One of my Aunt's brothers puts ketchup on his macaroni and cheese. I tried that once, didn't like it.

Okay, I had this dream last night. I was either married to or seriously dating this older guy (late 40's, early 50's). He was a well known conductor and we moved to a new city where he would be filling in for this other conductor who got sick. And this guy I'm with, he's got a little boy - about 3, I'd guess. So we go into the auditorium and the orchestra pit is huge. This isn't the place where they have their shows, it's just for rehersals. I think it was a high school auditorium. Anyways, he hands me the little boy and the kid and I go sit off to one side to watch. I get up and go up the stairs to the stage where there's this big black curtain. Since you shouldn't walk in front of the curtain while the orchestra is playing, I follow along the other side, across the stage. I bump in to a couple of people doing the same thing and eventually come out the other end. This is one long stage, too, I might add. The little boy has now taken off his shirt and pants and is harassing the tuba player, so I scoop him up and we go up to the conductor. It might be a break because no one is playing and there are lots of empty seats. The conductor tells me that there's an open chair in the strings and he put my name on it. I'm so happy, I'm jumping up and down. But then I realize that I don't have my violin anymore, so I ask him if he knows a place where we can get one for cheap. He says he knows a guy and I go sit in the chair. He comes up and hands me the case and the little boy and says that we're going to start now. I pull out the most beautiful piece I've ever seen and the little boy rosins for me. I can play just fine, despite the fact that I haven't studied in ages. Then we're outside and the little boy is being picked up by someone for the weekend. He is still half naked. We go back inside and now it's a huge symphony hall.

Then my fucking alarm goes off.

Anyone care to tell me what that all means? The whole getting a chair and amazing violin I can understand - I've been wanting to play again for a long time and that's been intensified these past couple of weeks. But I don't understand the little boy and why he took off his clothes? (Oh, he still had on his diaper and shoes and socks, he wasn't butt neked.)

The boss is out in Tomales at a meeting - they won't be back until this afternoon. Mike is getting me lunch right now. It's very quiet in here. No dogs today (hooooooray!). It's times like this - when the phones are quiet, when I'm alone in the office - that I understand the phrase "deafening silence." It's so quiet, my ears are in pain. It's bizarre.

3 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap