mind the gap

Pulling into the station

February 29, 2004

I'm home now, curled up on the futon, prepared for the Oscars. A guilty pleasure, I'll admit it. I like to watch. I like to guess who will win. I like to watch the stars come in in their fancy dresses and such.

And I like Johnny Depp.

A lot.

Last night, I had the pleasure of sitting at a dinner table with two former friends - one who didn't even say hello or anything until AFTER dinner was over (a two hour bloody dinner, I might add) and the other I sat next to the whole time and she didn't once turn to me. Not even to ask if I'd pass the salt. *Sigh* I did meet up with someone who I didn't get along with back then and turns out we got along great last night. She's married to a great guy (he came too, the only guy at the party, that's how cool he is) and she's so much more... grown up! When wild-child people calm down, I'm always amazed, you know?

I had a few drinks through the night (you would, too, if you had to put up with the two ice princesses / rich bitches...). I had apple-tinis, blue Hawaiians and this faboo drink called a Zoolander.

And then we went into the midway and I sweated all the alkie-hol out. It was freakin' hot in the Midway. My favorite game was AWOL so I had to find something else to occupy my time. I cashed in my tickets and got a Dave & Busters travel coffee mug (wooo) and a Cheer Bear stuffed bear. (I'm so five years old.)

Six minutes til showtime. My room-mates are in Napa at Bess' charity Oscar party. Me? Oh, I'll be sitting here, eating Velveeta Shells & Cheese and Ben & Jerry's. Fancy, eh?

I bought a new dress today. Target, of course. Yes, I said a dress. Stop laughing, people, I do actually wear them sometimes. I'm trying to decide when to wear it - Tuesday or Thursday... Tuesday would be for class because it's cute and well, you know. And Thursday because the head-honchos are coming to town this week and I think Thursday is the night we go to dinner. Not sure. Boss hasn't had me make reservations anywhere yet. I'd better ask him tomorrow about that. We always go to this French place, but Mike and I are pushing for Rutherford Grill. We figure good ol' fancy ribs will go over well with the good ol' boys.

One minute to go!

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap