mind the gap

Pulling into the station

May 03, 2004

Let it be known that at 4 o'clock on Monday, May 3rd, I placed my final paper into the fugly envelope - finally finished.

Of all the days that the e-mail servers could have failed, I thank the gods that it was today. For without those annoying e-mails, I was left with virtually no actual work to do, leaving me with time to finish my paper.

But ready for this... I forgot about this little two pager that's also due. *eep* It's a make-up paper for a quiz I did poorly on. (I got a C instead of an A.) I think I can crank that out, it's just a summary of what the reading was. I even brought my laptop, so if I can't finish at work, I can do it at school and print it there.

We saw "The Lion King" yesterday at the Orphium. (That's in San Francisco.) I used to call the Orphium the Opium. My dad thought it was funny... Anyways. My mom, Grandma, Holly, Nick, Hana, Lacey, Alexis, and I crammed into the van and ended up having dinner at Mel's on Market Street. Not bad. Not great, but not bad. Lace sat next to me in the theatre (the seats were far larger than I was expecting - roomier than the ones at the Curran or at the theatre where I saw "42nd Street" in New York), but Nick was in front of her and he has a big head. She kept leaning over me to see, but since she's short, I didn't care. Lexi decided that she was going to dance on the way back to the van after the show and entertain the homeless guys. Except she's not so graceful and kept tripping over her feet. I told her not to do it in the street because we didn't want her to be roadkill. And then she discovered that the homeless guys were all asleep anyways, so she stopped.

Did I like the show? Would I suggest that you go see it? Yes to both. Look for a matinee or a discount of some sort and see it. Even if you don't have kids or anything. And tech people, you'll appreciate the sets - I want to get in there and find out how they built that stage, by the way. I think the SF show runs through August now, but tickets are selling out left and right.

Lace wants to see "Hairspray" now, too. You've seen the movie right? With Ricki Lake? Okay, do YOU think a thirteen year old would be okay seeing that? I think she would be, but she hasn't seen the movie at all yet. I told her we would watch the movie and then we'd see about going to see it on stage. Maybe for her birthday...

Alright, it's 4:15. I should churn out that paper really quick and get the parking pass from Mike.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap