mind the gap

Pulling into the station

June 27, 2005

So I finished listening to "The Red Tent" on Saturday. That was a good book. (Let me remind you - audiobooks are my new favorite thing in the whole wide world.) It amazes me how someone can take the teeniest little blurb from something like the Bible and turn it into a novel. I pulled out one of my Bibles (I think I have three - how did THAT happen?) and looked up the story of Leah & Rachel (yeah and Jacob and Joseph, too) and sure enough, there was Dinah. For like two seconds, she is there in Genesis. But I went on to Amazon to read what other people thought of the book and I kept seeing things like "this book is nothing but lies" and "none of this was mentioned in the Bible" etc. It's FICTION. The author never said it was a historical account of what happened to Dinah. She took a little blurb and spun a wonderful story around it. She took liberties because, well, no one really knows what happened. But that's why it is labeled as FICTION.

Stupid people bug me. This guy places an order on Saturday. Fine. Then he sees another item so he places a second order a few minutes later and sends us an e-mail asking to combine the orders. Then he finds a THIRD item, e-mails us again to combine the orders. All of this happens while we're closed and by the time I get the messages, the orders have already been sent to the warehouse for shipment. I can't combine them, but out of the goodness of my heart, I knock down his shipping. But then? Then he calls today. He's found a FOURTH item, can we combine all the orders and include this item, too? Why can't people browse before they go through checkout? I don't get some people...

I finally watched "Ladder 49" on Saturday as well. Why didn't anyone tell me that I'd be bawling my eyes out!? What the hell is wrong with you people? No. I like stuff to blow up. I don't want movies that make me blubber like a... a... well, a girl! To remedy that, I watched "Shawn of the Dead" and then T and I went to see "Star Wars." I feel much better.

Happy Monday.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap