mind the gap

Pulling into the station

April 26, 2004

My patience grows thinner each time I pick up the phone. I really think that the cream of the eejit crop are coming out today. Take this conversation from this morning:

Billy Joe Bob: Can I git one uh y'all's catalogs?

Me: No, sorry, sir, we stopped printing catalogs back in 1999.

BJB: Oh. [pause] Then hows about y'all send me one uh dem catalogs y'got?

Me: Sir, we don't print catalogs anymore. We don't have any catalogs to send you. We are online now.

BJB: Uh-huh. Mmm-hmm. Welp. So, d'y'all make any of that Chebrolette stuff no more?

Me: Yes, sir, we do still make and sell Chevrolet products, but we sell them online, not in a catalog.

BJB: Okay. Jes sen' me one uh'dem catalogs den.

Me: I can't send you a catalog sir.

BJB: Why not?

Me: We don't have any. We don't do catalogs anymore.

BJB: Well, I jus' got one de udder day!

Me: What's on the cover, sir?

BJB: It say [insert popular redneck car magazine here].

Me: Sir, that's a magazine we advertise in. That isn't a catalog.

BJB: Oh. Bye then.

Now do you see why there is a giant, gaping hole in the wall near my desk? Now, I'm rightly sorry to any folks from the South or from redneck families, but Jesus-Mary-and-Joseph! The people that call us only add fuel to the stereotyping fire, if you know what I mean.

1 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap