mind the gap

Pulling into the station

June 30, 2005

Has anyone else noticed that Escalade drivers are total jerks? I was driving back from storage this morning and was behind two of them and BOTH of them cut people off just to get to the light half a second ahead of everyone else. Oh okay, I get it. You drive a $55,000 SUV so that gives you a free pass to be an agressive arse on the road. Same goes for the Lexus SUV drivers - you're no better.

Oh and what the hell was with that guy flipping me off yesterday on the freeway? We're going 60 up the grade and I'm behind a line of cars. This guy whips out from behind me, zooms up in the slow lane, flips me the bird, and races up ten cars then cuts off a semi back into our lane. What the...? Because it was obviously my fault that everyone in front of me was going slow up the grade. If he was going to flip off anyone, don't you think it would have been that semi at the front of the pack that was causing us to slow down?

So my roomates arrived back home all in one piece. They're dead tired, though - they'd been up for about 24 hours (neither could sleep on the plane). They brought me chocolate (ahhh love the chocolate from eastern Europe!) and these amber earrings!
Image hosted by Photobucket.com
They're lovely, my phone just takes shoddy pictures. And I've seen a real pashmina now. I've heard about these things in books and the like, but I'd never seen one in person (okay, I didn't go to Macy's to look for one either). Bess bought one that is just beautiful - all these bright vivid colors... And one that will look just right casually tossed over the rocking chair in the living room. And one to match a dress she brought with her. And... No, I think there were only three. But they're home, so that's good. Now things can get back to normal.

Normal. Ha. Like anything is ever normal anymore.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap