mind the gap

Pulling into the station

June 20, 2005

I don't want the PC Police to come down on me for this, but my God, sometimes I cannot stand deaf customers.

No, 99% of them are just fine. It's this ONE customer in particular that drives me up the wall. He calls in using a TTY Relay (naturally, as they all have to do). What drives me crazy is that he cannot form a full thought that anyone else can understand. I swear to God, people, his e-mails are just as bad as his TTY calls. I literally hit my head on the desk or with the phone whenever I hear "My name is Steven and I am deaf" on the line. He asks a question but answers it for himself before I can get a chance to speak. It's insane. I can't begin to explain to you the insanity that is this guy. I don't know how the TTY operator keeps from laughing her ass off. I know she can hear me mutter "Oh for the love of..." and "WTF Chuck, are you retahded?" I mean, seriously, how many ways can I explain to the guy that when an item is discontinued and sold out, we can't get anymore? And by we cannot get anymore, I mean that no more will ever be made and I cannot pull one out of my ass. Period. I kid you not, I spent ten minutes last week trying to explain to him that the T-shirt he wanted wasn't available anymore because the design was 10 years old and GM finally said "No More!" He gets all pissed off, says "You can't do this! I am deaf!" and basically accuses us of discrimination. What the hell? I'm telling him the same thing I'm telling the asshole from upstate New York, the redneck from bumfuck Arkansas, and the cholo from Los Angeles. His being deaf has nothing to do with the fact that the shirt in question no longer exists! But alas, he still does not understand this idea. Twice he has called in as many days. Three e-mails he sent this weekend. "Did you get my e-mail?!" You mean the ones I replied to and the ones that you replied back on? Nope, didn't get them.

But enough about Steven the Deaf Guy.

I had some people over on Saturday for some pulled pork. It was good. Daniel came up after working on his car - good to know I've still got a friend there. Crazy, isn't it? After all the hell I went through in that apartment, who would have guessed that the two exes would end up being friends? (Well, the three exes, actually...) I'm sure this pisses certain people off to no end, too.

On Friday, I went down to Fremont to have a couple of drinks (okay, I had a beer and that's all - I was driving after all) with Jenn and the boys from high school. Good. Lord. Okay, I didn't recognize either of them (the guys, not Jenn, duh) at first. It wasn't until I got home and opened the yearbooks that I really said "ho-lee crap, are you serious!?" It's been... 8 years since I'd seen them. 8 years is a long time, okay? Now I'm really wanting to go to our 10 year reunion! I'm really dying to know what the people from my class are like these days. I don't really see that many people from our class anymore. Thanks to MySpace.com (shameless plug) I've seen some of them in pictures. 2 years and then... reunion time. I'm dreading it and yet I can't wait. It seems like a long time, but I'm going to blink and it'll be the night before the party...

1 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap