mind the gap

Pulling into the station

August 11, 2005

You know, if this week didn't suck so much, it would almost be funny...

First of all, the Boy was in a car accident (I told you) and has a broken leg. And it dawned on me this morning that I had almost asked if he wanted me to go with him to pick up the meds, but at the last moment, I decided I'd better not. Had I opened my mouth... Moving on.

On Tuesday, I attempted to go see the Dukes of Hazzard movie. Oh shut up. I went to the last matinee at Stadium 16... Got me some popcorn (extra grease, thank you) and plopped down in the perfect seat seeing as how I was the only one in the theatre at the time. (By the time the lights went down, there were about a dozen people total. This is why I go in the middle of the week. Good seats.) We get past all the commercials and previews and finally settle into the movie.

Let me just stop right now and say that the sound system at the Stadium 16 rocked my socks. When they gunned the General Lee, the seats vibrated like whoa. The guys in front of me said, "Ooooh baby, that's a Hemi alright." GD that car is still hot. Anyways...

We're halfway into the movie - right at the part where they're at the university's geology lab - when the movie cuts off and the lights come up. A couple of people duck outside to grab someone and then the manager walks in. "Sorry folks," she says, "we have to evacuate the building on the instructions of the fire department." We troop outside to meet up with the other movie goers and I take a look around the parking lot. We've got two fire trucks, four or five cop cars, an ambulance and... yes, a HAZMAT vehicle. The employees hand out free movie passes once they get word that we won't be going back inside. I'm walking back to my car (and wouldn't you know it, I had a great parking spot, too) when two projectionists are rushed out to this makeshift shower stall in the parking lot. They strip down and are hosed off by HAZMAT right there. Turns out there was an "unidentified smell" coming from upstairs which ended up being some sort of gas leak. Yay.

Here... Our Police/Fire peeps hard at work. *snort*

1 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap