mind the gap

Pulling into the station

April 06, 2004

You know those word search books you can get at the news-stand? They're like, 99 cents? Well, I got a couple of those the other day - word searches and fill-it-ins. I'm getting pretty good, if I do say so myself. This morning, I timed myself. Seven minutes to complete one of the fill-it-ins. I did about eight of them, just to make sure I was getting an accurate time.

Hey, what else am I going to do at 3 o'clock in the morning?

Yeah, I was Insomnia Girl again last night. The last time I looked at the clock was 3:58, so I'm guessing I finally crashed at 4:15 or so. Had it not been for my foot getting stuck in the slats of the bed and nearly severing my big toe, I'd probably be asleep right now. How my foot got UNDER the futon pad, I don't know. It's one of those unsolved mysteries. Like how you go to bed fully clothed and wake up in a whole different outfit, complete with matching socks.

Mythology class has dwindled down to 15 people. Last night we had to scootch our desks into a circle - before "centering." Can you guess what happened? Well, first of all, moving desks into a circle is apparently more than we could handle. It took forever to get them arranged. But then wack-a-doo (you know, the teacher) whipped out her sage. And a lighter.

You know how after you've smoked some of Marin's Finest Wacky Weed, there's that lingering smell? That's what our classroom smelled like. She did this whole envoking of the Petaluma Miwok Indian spirits thing (I TOLD you she was out there), closing the circle, waving burning sage in our faces and shaking this egg thing. Then we centered. The guy next to me was humming the Twilight Zone theme ever so faintly and I was trying so hard to not laugh my ass off. So, I found it only fitting that we watched "Popol Vuh" last night. Have you seen that? No? It's like... "Yellow Submarine: the Mayan Translation." I was wishing I had some of that Marin's Finest to help me understand the film.

And before we could leave, she had to gather us back into a circle and do the whole spirit thing. Only in reverse. That's called opening the circle.

Spirits of the [North, West, South, East],

Go if you must, stay if you will.

Our reading assignment for next week?

Angels and UFO's.

God, I love community college.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap