mind the gap

Pulling into the station

April 05, 2004

Okay, I'm sensing some confusion about my mythology request. Yes, pattianne, Pele is that soccer guy. (And oddly, in 10th grade phys ed, I was nicknamed Pele for my outstanding ass-kickin' soccer abilities. Maybe this report was in my destiny all along...)

But alas, before the great soccer dude, there was the Hawaiian Hottie, the Voluptious Volcano, the Firey Female... Pele.

About ten years ago or so, my wackadoo great aunt told me this crazy story about when she lived in Hawaii. At the time, I figured she was telling me some half baked story to pass the time, all made up in her head. Okay, I was wrong. She told me about sitting on the beach watching these balls of fire shoot across the sky. She asked around town and the locals told her that those were Pele's fireballs and how she hurls them across the ocean at the Phillipines or wherever. Right. You have to understand, my aunt also tried (and succeeded, actually) to convince everyone that we were part Native American and most recently that we're 1/8-th Chinese. (You've seen my picture, do YOU see any of either? Nuh-uh, I'm as white bread as they come.) Anyways. She's a great story teller, an ar-teeeest painter, is into new agey stuff, had 10 kids and no husband. Some would call her crazy, we call her eccentric. Where was I? Oh, yeah! So she's telling us this story and I'm looking at my mom like "crap, we've got the same DNA" and I promptly push the crazy stories to the back of my head. (Oh yeah, there were more. Bees in her grocery bag, warriors tramping through the house, you name it.) Then last week, I'm grasping for a topic for my mythology paper and my mom goes, what about Pele? I think, I know he's a good player mom, but I don't think that's the kind of God she's looking for.

So I hop on Google and start hunting down this Pele goddess. If I write it well enough, I'll post my paper so you can read about this crazy thing. The basic run down is this: Pele is the one who makes the islands, the one who sets off the volcanos, etc. She's big time famous. Want your house to be saved from the lava? Pour brandy around the house. Oh yeah, I'm getting some fun stuff here. And what myth would be complete without the love triangle?! Stay tuned for the next epidode of... Paradise Gods. (Or when I do more research, I'll have better details.)

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap