mind the gap

Pulling into the station

January 30, 2005

I'm sitting here, sipping my Starfucks, and trying not to jump up and down in pure ecstatic joy.

See those tickets in my hand? optimystic6, one of those is yours. We're going to U2, we're going to U2, we're going to U2!!!

People, I have never waited in line for a ticket before. I usually buy them online, right? This morning was crazy. People were camped out in chairs, bundled up, chugging Deaf Dog (local coffee shop, which is next door), and whining about the damn Fan Club scooping up the good seats. I was maybe the 12th buyer in line. And of those first 12 buyers, I was the youngest. That's what was super scary. There were folks in line that were 60 or more. Yikes. One of the old farts was a real prick. Okay, look, you get what you get, right? These shows sold out in minutes - it's not the girl at the counter's fault. Yet he kept bitching about how "if I would have known there was going to be a second show" blah blah blah. No one knew, okay? Teh guy behind me in line (who looked like a slightly chubbier David from "Roseanne") nearly shit his pants when they announced the second show. He and I both were like, we don't care, just fork over the tickets. Other people were walking out of line saying "we'll try e-Bay and Craigslist for better seats." What the hell? I wouldn't take the gamble, but that's just me.

Oh but the funny part? So we're freezing our butts off outside and one of the guys opens his car doors and puts in the new CD so we can at least listen to something while we wait. Then they open the store doors and we go in. I kid you not, the store had the CD on, too -- it was on the same song and the exact same lyrics as the car outside. Twilight zone moment.

Okay, I can relax now. I have tickets for U2 and Jimmy. I can die a happy girl. After April, of course!

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap