mind the gap

Pulling into the station

October 29, 2004

I have a new best friend. He works at the Used CD store (you know, the one that I shouldn't ever go into again). I went there yesterday to replace "Joshua Tree" (you know, if the CD slides under the bed and you accidentally set the bed post down on it... that's not good). When he was ringing me up, my new Best Friend and I started chatting about the new U2 CD (which drops in T-minus 25 days). There's the CD (duh) and the CD/DVD combo (double duh), but then... then there's the CD/DVD/Book combo. Holy crap. I did not know of this combo. They will be getting five of these sets and guess who's getting one of them? See, that's why he's my new BFF. (Okay, not really. I don't even know his name.)

In other news, I'm not too thrilled with our governing bodies right now. I got an e-mail this morning from my cousin who has found out that there is about an 80% chance that he'll be shipped overseas in the spring. To Iraq. (Note that his wife is already over in Korea serving at least a year - probably more because this is the Army and six months actually means two years. And had to leave her baby stateside.) It makes me mad, it makes me sad, and it makes me scared. And I'm sick of people telling me that it's their fault, that's what they signed up for. It is NOT their fault that they have to go over there. Both of them had stateside jobs, they weren't supposed to have to go overseas again (they both served a couple of years already in Korea). Yes, when you enlist and serve in a time of war, that's what happens. But that's not what they were told. They were told that they were stateside now. GD liars.

So now that I'm crying (again), I'd better go get back to work. I've got packages to ship. Again.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap