mind the gap

Pulling into the station

April 16, 2004

This week's recap was delayed for two reasons. First of all, on Tuesday - as you probably already know - the President took up one of the time slots in one of the time zones so FOX decided to push the entire show set back a day. To make voting fair and all. And the second reason is that I overslept this morning and have been playing catch-up. But on to the important stuff!

This week's theme was Movies. The remaining eight will be telling us about their favorite movies and then will sing us a song from another movie. Special guest host on the show this week is a huge fan of the show, Mr. Quentin Terentino. (Oh, gosh, and if I spelled that wrong, I am so sorry. I'm just to lazy to go look it up.) His new flick opens today. Me, I'm a huge fan of the Pulp Fiction.

First up was George, winning some Brownie points for his favorite movie pick - The Wiz. He sang "Against All Odds (Take A Look At Me Now)." He sounded a little rough, maybe even strained - so much so that even Paula didn't rave about it. QT said that it made him forget that he hates the song, however, so George had at least one fan on the panel. Not a great George showing.

Jennifer followed George with "I Have Nothing." (Her favorite movie is Sister Act 2: Back in the Habit.) Okay, she was good, but I kept getting distracted by her hair. I know they're trying to keep it straight and all, but come on! You can tell that it's trying to go back to 'fro! Anyways. "Hudson takes on Houston...and wins!" Ah, that QT. Always worth a good little soundbite. But yes, I'll agree, it was pretty effin' good.

We've seen Elvis from him before, but in case we'd forgotten how great it can be, JPL graced us with "Jailhouse Rock." (And he lurves Dead Poets Society.) I am sad to say that this was probably his best performance to date - and it still stank. He has the Elvis moves down just fine, but I noticed that instead of singing, JPL shouts. And was it just me, or did he actually forget a line?

Fourth up was Bowfinger fan Diana, with the token movie ballad, "My Heart Will Go On." (I am so sick of that song, you have no idea.) She started off too fast. The tempo, I mean. And she got pretty out of tune, too - I cringed. It wasn't horrible, but like the judges said, so what? It wasn't anything special.

Fantasia - a Finding Nemo fan - sang a Gershwin classic, "Summertime." (Oooh, I can play that on the piano!! Well, I used to be able to. Probably not now.) Now really, people, do I need to comment on this one? Simon said it was something magical and I'm going to have to agree on that. By far the most... most... Yeah, it was most excellent. Like Jennifer and "Circle of Life" last week, so goes Fantasia and this song. Perfect. Moving on...

Are you surprised that Jasmine is a fan of Lilo & Stitch? She sang "When I Fall In Love." I need to have a talk with her and the sound guy - I can hear her taking her breaths, gasping, and it drives me ape. I felt bad for her, having to follow Fantasia. You know she was standing back there, thinking, oh crap, I'm screwed now. In any case, it was pretty good - not great, not top 3, but not awful.

John's favorite movie is Aladdin. Yeah, I didn't see it either - I figured some ol' black and white would be his pick. I'm really beginning to regret my words. *sigh* The kid was actually good at his song, "As Time Goes By." The white jacket he picked to wear only put us into the whole Casablanca scene and... well, good delivery. Pitchy, but what's new. I wish he'd stop picking those old standards and turning newer songs into old standards. He's not pop. Ugh. And Simon thinks that he's turning into Ryan Seacrest. I don't see it.

And finally, our second Nemo fan, LaToya. She picked "Somewhere" from West Side Story. She had one point where I thought she was going to lose it. But she snapped out of it and pulled off the second best of the night. What a way to close out the show. She had one of the best ending notes out of everyone.

And here's Seacrest, telling us to go vote and delivering that line I hate so much... Seacrest out! (Can he get any more annoying??)

Thursday night. In the audience we have former contestant RJ Helton (ooooh, aaaah) and former 90210-er Jason Priestly. Who happens to be starring in the Tru Calling episode with Tamyra Gray. What a co-wink-ee-dink.

Season One's Christina Christian is putting out an album this year, so she showed up to serenade us. I'll admit it, I wasn't a Christina fan, so I just fast forwarded through her little number. Sorry. I'm sure it was muy bien.

But we don't really care about all that, we want to know.... no we need to know... Who is in the bottom three?

JPL, Diana, and John. The judges aren't really all that surprised and yes, Simon thinks that age is playing a big factor in this season, blah blah blah. Ryan, just send someone back to their seat.

Diana. She does a little happy dance and then... commercial break.

Before we kick someone out, can I just comment about the commercial? It's got paper puppets of the contestants (because they were rehersing with Barry Manilow for next week or something) driving the Ford. And evading the police. Great message to send out, FOX. Smart.

So, we have two John's standing center stage - one looks bored, the other looks like he's about to pee his pants. Jo...hn, yes, John, you can go sit down! JPL, get outta here.

Comments for next week? John and Diana and Jasmine, my picks for the bottom three. John needs to go, although I'm very afraid that he's going to do well with Barry Manilow songs.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap