mind the gap

Pulling into the station

March 26, 2004

Here we are, week two of the finals. Our theme of the week? Country. And you'll never guess who's in the audience tonight...

-Diana was up first, singing �A Broken Wing�. We got to see a bit of Diana�s previous singing � turns out she is a National Anthem Girl, singing at sporting events, schools, and other places. So she knows the Star Spangled Banner. But back to the singing on the show� I think there were a couple of little flubbed flats in there. But that�s okay. They weren�t that awful. And she can hold a note � very, very well.

-George, second of the night, with �I Can Love You Like That� (which was also a R&B hit, by the way). Was it just me or did George sound a little strained up there? Almost like he�s getting sick. Ah, but aside from that, he did pretty good. He remembered all the words, and got the notes right.

-Third up was Fantasia. She sang �Always on my Mind� � shared in the past by Willie Nelson and Elvis. A traditionally male song, I think she pulled it off very well. The way she sings the slower songs� She makes it sound and look like there�s nothing to it. She�s very relaxed on stage.

-Singing forth with �King of the Road� was the Lounge Lizard King himself, John. Of all the country songs out there, he picked one that fit his voice perfectly. It was a little more upbeat than what he�s been doing, so he actually moved around a little bit. He did forget a few words and had to improvise, but you know what? He pulled it off, he made it work in the song. Aside from the slip up on the words, I think this is the first time I�ve enjoyed John�s performance. Satan, pull out the snow shoes�

-Camile sang next, with the Eagle�s �Desperado.� I wish that she�d stop trilling, but hey, this time she smiled and made contact with the audience. She changed up a few notes � which they all do, mind you, to make it their own � but it came out sounding botched. Country is not her category. Not overly impressed, but I�m glad to see that she smiled�

-Jennifer, sixth of the night, sang �No One Else On Earth.� They flattened her afro! Having owned this album back in the day (am I ashamed?), I think she did it pretty good. I am a little concerned about those times when it sounds like she�s shouting instead of singing, though. She rocked the stage this week � moving around, swinging the stand�

-Lucky number seven was JPL, with �She Believes in Me.� Kermit the Frog sings Kenny Rogers. He faltered on some notes � no, a lot of notes. I�m wondering if he�s trying to put too much power into his voice? Sadly, I cringed too often during this one. Don�t get me wrong, I�d still pinch his cheeks!

-Jasmine sang eighth. �Breathe� was her song of choice. The sound guy needs to get shot � her mic was up way too high. I could hear her lips, okay? Only a couple of flats in there and I think she needs to work on pitch a little more. And she also sounded a little raspier than usual. Is there a bug going around in that house?

-Starting to wind the show down now, ninth up was Matt. Baby, we weren�t �Amazed� by you tonight. From the starting gates, Matt hit sour notes. Sometimes I thought I could hear him trying to twang, which is really weird sounding. He finished flat as� Debra Messing�s chest. (Sorry, that was wrong.)

-LaToya, second to last, sang �Ain�t Goin� Down Til the Sun Comes Up.� If you�ve never heard this song� Okay, you know Billy Joel�s �We Didn�t Start The Fire� or R.E.M.�s �End of the World,� how they spew a buttload of words out really fast? She did that part so well, it was the slower parts that she missed. And by missed, I mean missed words and missed notes. Eek. But I give her props for getting that first part out flawlessly.

-Last, but not least, Amy� �Sin Wagon.� If anyone in this season was meant to sing this genre, it would be Amy. Of all the performances she�s given up so far, I think this one was her best. She got the notes and she was Dixie Chick all the way up there. Perfect rendition. Sorry, she�s my winner of the night, I just can�t find a flaw worth mentioning.

Josh Gracin was in the audience � he�s got a song on the country charts! I told you, TOLD YOU, he was a kickass country boy!

Wednesday night� time to send someone home. 19.5 million votes. Record breaking, according to Ryan. But before we get into the deeds at hand, it�s time for a little musical guest. A little gal you might remember from last season. And if you read these last season, you�d know that this was my girl to the end. Kimberley Locke! �One Love, Thanks to my Fans� comes out May 4th.

The bottom three this week are: Matt, Camile, and� Okay before I list the last one, I have a question. How the hell do you let the best two of the night be the last two up there? It was Amy and Diana going into the break � one of them will be in the bottom three. What gives? Back to the list: Matt, Camile and Diana. * Pauses while people recover from the shock of Diana being in the bottom three. *

Diana is the first one back to the seats, leaving Camile and Matt to sweat it out after yet another commercial break. And when we come back, Matt goes home.

And then there were ten. Until next week, kiddies�

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap