mind the gap

Pulling into the station

December 23, 2003

Long time no update, I know. It's a tired old story, but we're swamped. Every time I think the phones will be quiet enough for me to go grab a drink or go to the bathroom, they just start ringing off the hook again. Madness, I tell you, just pure madness.

Two days til Christmas. And I finished my freakin' shopping. Well, except for Sharon. But we're not seeing them til after so I can shop for that after the mad rush. I'm wrapping the things that Boyrfriend bought - except for the ones he's giving me, of course. He really is one of those guys that the gift wrap industry invented bags-and-tissue for. Without that and complimentary gift wrap, Boyfriend would hand us presents in the Best Buy or Target bag and say here. (I kid, I kid.)

I got my laptop on Saturday. Wheeee! Now, before you go and get excited on me, let me just tell you a little about it. It's a Dell Latitude or whatever that model is. From like, 1996. I run Windows 95. (Yes, I said 95.) And I don't have a USB port. I do have a modem, though, but since we have DSL which needs the USB... Ah, anyways. I have a fuckload of games on there and I have been transferring over my pictures and stuff from work and home. Via floppy disc. (I do have a CD drive in the laptop, so yes, I can play CDs. Although... I don't have media player or anything. Just CD player.) Sandra did update the office suite on there so I'm running a better version of Excel and such, and she updated the virus-scan to the highest available for the machine. So, my laptop is renamed Chitty-Chitty-Bang-Bang, but it's mine mine all mine and I love it. So there.

Boss says we're taking a half day tomorrow. Yay. Feel my enthusiasm? Oh yeah, baby, I know you can.

The rain's here. Again. I think it started sometime last night and we had a break there for about two hours - long enough that I could go get lunch and come back before it started pouring again. I'm glad we got the tree on Sunday. Brenna and I put the ornaments up last night. It's got spastic white lights (multi blinking patterns) and regular red ones on it this year. Woo.

I have beef with Fed Ex. I've been on hold with Fed Ex so much this week, I know their stupid hold music by heart and even in what order they play. And how often the stupid lady comes on to tell me that a rep will be with me as soon as possible. Ha. They need to get some new music. Or get a longer CD so that it doesn't loop while I'm on hold.

I'm wearing my jammies under my jeans today. Okay, I had to buy a pair of long-johns last night to take to Oregon. It's too warm in our room to sleep in sweats, so I threw on the long-johns. Then this morning, it was so cold, I just left them on and pulled my jeans up over them. (Hey, I showered last night. No beef.) But my legs are nice and warm today! My fingers are freezing, though. Our new office has a heating system of it's very own! We won't have to freeze or bake because the other half of the building is too hot or too cold anymore. Yay!

I wonder what Boyfriend bought me? He got a package here yesterday and won't tell me what it is. I figured it was software for work (images or something), but he brought it home and hid it last night. It's a priority mail box and all he kept saying is everywhere kept selling out of this so he's really happy it came in.

And I was finally allowed to get my hands on Pirates... Mmmm... pirates... Johnny Depp...

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap