mind the gap

Pulling into the station

December 19, 2003

Someone likes me. Boss turned off the damn voicemail system for the weekend. Ha-le-frickin'-loo-ja! If there's one thing I really, really, REALLY hate about this job, it's answering the voicemails every day. Although it's just not a good day if I don't get at least one heavy breather message or - now that it's the holidays - a minute of Christmas carol hold music. I've even had one where it was 43 seconds of a dog barking and the customer shouting at it to shut up. Never did find out who that was... Anyways, we turned them off because the system can only hold like, 45 minutes worth and we know it'll jam up the rest of the lines. Yay! That also means we can't access the last of those messages from today. Darn. (I have no customer service left in me today. I used it all up on the first two people this morning.)

We went and got a bunch of furniture for the new office from this warehouse up the street. The company that had been in there did a Midnight Run and left all their stuff. We got three filing cabinets, four chairs, two desks, and a whole bunch of random goodies. The price? Sixty bucks to the Mexican guys (the same ones who do the landscaping) for helping haul the stuff out of the warehouse and then up into the new office. Considering the file cabinets are $30 each, minimum... Not too shabby. I need to get up there with a Costco sized bottle of 409, but that's ok. The stuff is in good shape, just dusty and dirty. (Well, it was sitting in a warehouse for two weeks unused. What do you expect?)

Now, my friends, I have to go finish my flippin' Christmas shopping. Wish me luck, I'm going to Wal*Mart. I know. I think I might actually be suicidal... Think God would send me to hell if I got run over in Wal*Mart a week before Christmas? I mean, I go in there knowing full well that the place is a madhouse. Ugh. The things we do for our friends and family.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap