mind the gap

Pulling into the station

February 17, 2004

You want to hear something awful?

My cousin Lis is Phillipino, although she's been here in the US now for... about 10 years? She was in the Safeway with her daughter, Lex, in the checkout line. There was a guy in front of her being checked out. The cashier doing the ringing and the cashier in the next isle started talking to each other - which is normal on a slow day, right? Assuming that Lis doesn't speak English, the two checkers started saying things like "oh look here comes another one" and "bet she pays with food stamps ha ha" and "oh look she's a cutie" (about Lex, who's 9, and said in a lewd manor, from what I've heard) and other stuff. Lis looks behind her, thinking maybe they're talking about someone else. There's no one there, so she asks them "are you talking about me?" She grabs Lex, leaves the cart and bolts out of the store.

One of my uncles works for Safeway and told her that if she can get the bag boy who was standing there to back up her story, those two checkers would be fired at the least for doing that. There wasn't a manager on site to file a complaint to, which is annoying, too.

I mean, holy crap, I've wanted to say things about customers to my co-workers but I at least waited until there was no-one around! Or I waited until the store was closed or hell, maybe I wouldn't say anything at all.

I'd like to think that when people say those things, someone pipes up with a "they might not speak English, but I do and that's just rude" or something, you know?

What really stings is not that they said it over Lis, but that Lex was standing right there and no doubt heard it too.

1 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap