mind the gap

Pulling into the station

February 04, 2005

Last night I dreamed that I was in Baghdad. Buying a used car. Mmhmm. And I said to the person I was traveling with, "This looks a lot like Oakland, you know? Only cleaner." But anyways, what made me scared was this: we drove into a used car / junkyard lot to look at this old green Jetta and there were these men roaming around, poking at stuff, and drinking beers or something. But they saw me sitting in the truck with my head uncovered and started throwing dirt at the truck, yelling at me. So I grabbed the only scarf I had with me (which happened to be my bright red sarong thingy that I bought at Cost Plus last year) and wrapped my head up. Then they started laughing. Not just light ha-ha's, no these guys were rolling on the ground laughing and pointing, "look at that ugly scarf!" Meanwhile, in the backseat of the truck, this other woman was muttering about the bombs going off but that we'd be okay because we're two miles east of Nana (is that even a real city?) and the bombs were seven miles west of Nana.

By the way, we didn't buy the Jetta because the hood was under about two feet of dirt.

Two good things about today: it's Friday and it's Payday. And my rent has already gone through and - this is crazy - I have money left over! Seriously! How did I manage that? If I would have realized that I had that much fundage still in the bank (which would require me checking)... It's good timing, too. I'll have enough money to be able to go out when Jenny is in town this time. (Oooh, yay, 17 days this time!)

Remember how Valentines Day is like, just over a week away? Anyone up for horror movies instead of love? I'm thinking "Boogeyman." (And no, not because of Barry Watson.)

2 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap