mind the gap

Pulling into the station

July 22, 2005

One thing I love about the internet is that you can hop onto a messageboard/community/forum and check out people from around the world and find out what their views are. And sometimes you learn things that make you re-think your own opinion. I enjoy getting into friendly debates with folks over issues. I ask a question, I hear their reply, I ponder, I question their statement, they counter, and away we go. But I never, ever tell someone that their opinion is incorrect. It's called opinion, not fact. There cannot be a right or wrong opinion. There can be opinions that don't go over well with the masses, but that doesn't make them wrong or incorrect.

That said, there was this ho-bag, see-you-next-tuesday, beeeeyotch on one of the LJ communities that I participate in. She was notorious for getting into raging fights (or flame wars) with people if they didn't agree with her opinion or if they - God forbid - asked her to explain her opinion. I try not to dwell on the discussions that take place in the community, but more than once, I went home fuming over something she'd said to me or to someone else in the group.

But yesterday, T told me that she's been banned from the community. I am beyond thrilled. No wonder the community has been peaceful and sane this week...

S'long, bitch! Don't let the door hit you on your way out!

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap