mind the gap

Pulling into the station

March 08, 2004

I'd just like to say that Charlize Theron... the Oscar... Yeah, she earned every ounce of that statue.

Danielle and I went to see "The Passion of the Christ" yesterday afternoon and right before the movie started, we decided to go see "Monster," too. (God bless matinee prices til 5!) First things first, you want to know my take on the Jesus movie. Cinematically moving. There was a point during the beatings where I nearly reached for my bag of popcorn to barf into. But did I cry, you ask? I had the packet of tissue on my lap the whole time, but I didn't have to pull one out. Now that's not saying I didn't get the waterworks in motion. One particular scene with Mary and Jesus in the streets nearly sent me over the top. But I didn't. And I saw Mel's hand for a flick of a second before I had to turn away. The musical score is great, and the foley artists deserve many, many props for the movie. The part where they drive the nails into Jesus' hands... You swear to, well, God - sorry - that the actor is actually being punctured. And in the few seconds before they show the stone rolling away from the cave and Jesus is there (oh come on, we all know the story, this isn't exactly a spoiler, folks - it's like Titanic, the ship sinks in the end)... Even the little kids were drop dead silent. Pins dropping four towns over could be heard. I've never heard it that silent in a movie theater before.

So, we scooted outta there and went to Quizznos for some late lunch before seeing "Monster." All I want to say about that movie is wait for DVD and it made me squirm in my seat. I wanted to go home and shower, it made me feel that icky. How weird is that?

In other news... We got together to go over lines on Saturday. I made my toga - *snort* - last night. If you can call it that. Let's face it people, Greek costumes are hard to come by in March... especially ones for the girls. I bought a white sheet (hello, Wal*Mart) and some gold chording, some purple tule, and this strand of coins. I got the toga wrapped up on me right last night, now let's hope I can do it again tonight in the girl's bathroom at school.

I also bought me some hot new curtains. Purple sheers. After tonight, I'm going to drape the purple tule in with it, too. Maybe throw the strand of coins along the top. Now, if I get more of these - they're cheap, too - I can make me one bitchin' room. Red, purple, with gold trim... See where I'm going with this? No? Nevermind...

Sex and the City status: Season four, done. Crap.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap