mind the gap

Pulling into the station

January 26, 2004

You do realize that I haven't gone out and done the singles dating thing since 1996 or so? I mean the going out and getting a date, going on it, and then not returning the guy's calls. Let's see, I was with one guy on-again-off-again from 95 to 99 (eek, more off than on), I had one eejit in 98, then most recently from 99 to 04. (Yeah, I don't want to hear about the overlapping of dates.) With the occational random date thrown in there that we ended up saying "it was just some friends going out..." (a*hem, Jace, Derrek, Dave, T, another Mike)

I bring this up only because one of the people who came in to class tonight to add was freakin' hot. I'm sorry. I believe I technically have "mourning" time before I start even going after other guys, but... I can still look, right? And drool a bit? And wonder what he... nevermind.

I'm going to add Dramamine to my drug arsenal now. See, every once in a while, I get these headaches that aren't really migranes. Instead they make me so messed up that I get motion sickness walking to the bathroom or even sitting up in a chair. I had another bout with one of these this morning. I got up to pee at like, 6, and nearly puked all over the hallway. Went back to bed. Called boss at oh, 6:45, left a message saying there was no way in hell that I was going to be able to drive in today, call me if you need me. (Which he never does. Thank God.) Nice thing about these headaches, though, they go away after a few hours and I can function like a normal human being again. Mostly. By 2-ish, I was able to get up and move around without my stomach going "noooo!" Bess made some killer veggie beef soup for dinner, which was mucho delicioso. *Mental note: get cookbooks from old house. Crock pot books are in great demand here.*

So now I'm off to read "The Epic of Gilgamesh" for next week's class.

Oh, yeah, we did the evil Getting to Know the Class thing today. Introduce your partner (Christine) and one intersting factoid about them (used to race a 69 Camaro). And then regurgitate the names and factoids of EVERYONE else who's already gone. Thank goodness Christine and I were in the front part of the class. I had to remember Megan (theater), Norman (construction), Amanda (hula), Chrissy (arts), Dave (law enforcement), Jeff (graphic design), and Christine. We have three Chris' in the class (Christine, Chrissy, and Christopher), two Daves, two Toms, and two Jeffs. Garrett, the last guy to go, nearly shit his pants trying to remember everyone. Ha. I hate those games.

But I'll always remember that Jamie has two Dobermans and that Sarah has a guitar signed by the Red Hot Chili Peppers.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap