mind the gap

Pulling into the station

May 31, 2004

Warning... Not a happy entry.

If you don't remember, my dad cheated on my mom and they split up. My mom just told me on Friday that my dad's brother has been doing the same thing. And my aunt has been served with papers. I want so much to pick up the phone and call Kevin right now, but I don't know if he knows yet. I'm sure he does, but... I don't want to call and be the one who breaks it to him. But I really want him to know that my mom doesn't hate his dad. (When my folks split up, the family made this weird morph - my dad was basically ousted and my mom took over his spot. She and my uncle have been good friends ever since. When they were out visiting, Kev pretty much made it clear to everyone that he'd rather have my mom there than my dad.) And that I don't hate him, either. We're a small family on that side and it tends to get ever so nasty when things go down. Forgive and forget is not something the Richardson clan does well.

And on the other half of my family... the shit hit the fan when the 15-won't-live-to-be-16 Hana pulled a Code Red Teenager stunt on Friday. Lacey called my mom in hysterics to come over. Holly even hugged my mom. The last time Holly hugged my mom was over a year ago when my mom was in the car accident. She doesn't do the hug thing. But she also just bitch smacked her teenager (ah, the elder teenager).

This is why I am never getting married and never having kids. No, I'll have the kids, but they won't be allowed to be teenagers. EVER.

1 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap