mind the gap

Pulling into the station

May 12, 2005

When I was in junior high, my mom was going to school up at the JC - mostly childhood development courses towards her degree. One of the classes was a toddler/young child craft class. Every couple of weeks, the students had to present an original or unique craft project, complete with a demonstration.

It's the night of my mom's presentation. She has to leave in about an hour and hasn't come up with her project yet. She grabs me and we go to Smart & Final and grab a package of those clear plastic carry-out trays. She sets me to work cutting the bottoms out of most of them while she hunts down her carton of colored Sharpies. Throwing the carton at me, she commands "Draw! Anything!" So I did. Being the dork that I am, I drew the green guy from the front of the Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy books. (Told you I was a geek.) She shoved it in the oven and lo-and-behold... Shrinky-dinks. She grabbed her samples and the plastic I had cut out and took off for school.

Of all the presentations that night, my mom was the only one that passed with an A.

Moral of the story?

Sometimes you just work better under pressure. That said, I really have to go home and go for a walk. Gotta prepare for that 8.5 mile trek across the city (7 1/2 but there's another mile to get to the shuttles that take you back to the Embarcadero) on Sunday.

1 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap