mind the gap

Pulling into the station

January 13, 2005

Can you believe it? Tomorrow is Friday already. And you know what else? This weekend makes one year since I moved out and into the new house with my roomates. *nods* You know what that means, too, right? Right.

It's that time of the year (again). There go the newbie crewing kids. Morons. One girl is actually wearing flip-flops while they run their laps. She must be very new. (There go the coaches, they're not running, no they're actually waddling. You get quite a view from up here.) I do miss the other office - I could watch them sit on the lawn doing their exercises. Most of the time, no one thought to bring a towel and they'd have to sit in the wet grass. Which means that when they stood up, it looked like 18 teenagers had wet their pants. And nothing is funnier at the end of a shitty Monday than a bunch of teenagers running around with wet muddy stains on their asses.

Why is it that the first few weeks of the year leave me absolutely un-motivated? I have zero desire to go to the gym, to finish re-typing the old papers, to clean my room, to organize my closet, to clean my car out... anything. Zip. Zero. Nada. What do I want to do? Be a lazy bum. (I'm brilliant at that, by the way.)

On the other hand, why is it that when I have time to be a lazy bum I always end up being the busy bee and cleaning everything in sight? What the hell? Last time this happened, I attacked the bathroom. My toilet bowl sparkled like the Hope Diamond, baby. I even managed to get the funky soap residue scrubbed off the shower shelf. Now THAT is a task and a half. Is it just me or is that gunk just a pain in the ass to really clean up? 409? HA! Ajax? Think again. Finally, though, I took Gran's advice and whipped out a Mr Clean Magic Eraser. People, I l-o-v-e that little spongey thing. It worked, I kid you not. A little warm water, a little rub, and that soap crap was gone. And that little pink spot on the side of the tub from the stray hair dying goo? Gone.

You didn't really need to know all about my cleaning habits, did you? No, I didn't think so.

Happy almost Friday.

1 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap