mind the gap

Pulling into the station

August 01, 2005

So I was laying in bed last night, staring out the window at the very bright stars and I thought "Hm, okay, this is the only reason why I would stay up here." I haven't thought about leaving in a while so it was kind of strange to have that thought. But I do really like that you can actually see stars from your window here. You don't get that when you live in cities anymore. Too many lights.
But here... Before the fog rolls in, you can look up at a velvet black sky with dots of white as far as the eye can see. On a moonless night, you can see billions of stars. I can lay under my down blanket (window wide open, of course) and look at Orion and the 7 Sisters. When it's been a very long day, it's nice to crawl in bed and watch the universe out your window.

[/deep thoughts]
My birthday is in two months. Again. This year has zipped by. I dreamed that July was over and then I woke up and it was August. It feels like we were just setting off 4th of July fireworks.
So it's time to start thinking of what I want to do for this year's celebration. I feel like making people do something outside of their usual comfort zones... Golf? I'm looking at my address book, looking at my friends. How strange. It looks completely different this year. Names have faded off the page and new ones have been added on. Either I've changed or they have - I'm not sure which. Probably both. But it makes me want to gather everyone just one last time.

This is why I don't drink apple juice. It gives me a headache, which makes me want to listen to soothing music, which in turn makes me think. Blast it all to hell.

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap