mind the gap

Pulling into the station

February 28, 2005

I need to watch "Garden State" tonight so I can send it back. I have mixed feelings about watching this movie.

I had great expectations about "Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind" - everyone I know that had seen it loved it, said it was the best movie. I watched it. My reaction? "And...?" I didn't get it, I guess. I think I'm in the minority when I say that I didn't particularly like it. I think I prefer movies where things blow up. Maybe if Kate Winslett's head had exploded into flames, maybe that would have spiced the movie up a bit.

I wish they'd make the plot or the point of the movie a little more obvious. Or maybe they could include a flier with the DVD - "Idiot's Guide to Understanding *this movie*" That would help. Because if I have to search too far into the plot to get it, I'm going to eject the DVD and watch "Mallrats." Now there is a movie I get.

That all being said, only 3 months and 5 days until "Hitchhikers Guide to the Galexy" opens. The only thing I don't get about this movie is why they cast Mos Def as Ford. No. Just... no. But I've been waiting for this movie for about 13 years. I'll forgive them for the odd casting, just pass me the popcorn.

What was my point? I forget. But in any case, I'm going to Blockbuster on the way home to get the next season of Alias (again, I blame -just-jenn for this). And I hope the guy with the odd eyes isn't the one who rings me up. I try not to get freaked out by people, but this guy's eyes look in two different directions and neither one is straight ahead. It is a little weird, okay?

Side note: I have been ordering shipping supplies for about a year now from this company. For months, we have had no problem with deliveries. Today, there's a new delivery guy and he got mad at Boss because there is no elevator. *blinks* Well, duh. This is a warehouse building. That's why they have those hand trolleys with wheels that they drag up the stairs. He said - and I quote - "These boxes! Too heavy to bring up these stairs! You come get them!" These are the same boxes that I have been ordering for a year. I have hauled these bad boys up the stairs many times. If I can do it, he can, too. In fact, if you can't lift a 40 pound bundle, you shouldn't be working industrial/warehousing deliveries. Period. The regular delivery guy can bring up my entire order (usually 4 or 5 bundles of stuff) in less than two minutes. This guy today? Took him 10 minutes. And then he was going to leave without having someone sign for the delivery. *tsk tsk*

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap