mind the gap

Pulling into the station

January 13, 2004

For those of you who have never had the Northern California experience, let me explain:

We're a little off.

Remember the 60's and 70's? So do we, except a lot of us tend to stay there forever. When someone offers you a brownie, you take one but not before asking if these are Marin/Herbal/Special brownies. (Think people...) A person taking up residence in a tree - as in carving out windows and a chair inside - is not rare. For Christsakes, you pass a freakin' Birkenstock facility on 101. And then those people stuck in the *peace-love-happiness* era have children and the cycle continues.

That all being said, let me tell you about my Mythology professor. First of all, she didn't have the key to the room - which was locked for no apparent reason other than the fat security guard forgot to put his donut down and unlock it at 30-til - so we're standing out in the freezing fog while she frets over how to get in. A student tells her to go to the administration building (which is about, oh, 10 yards from our door) and have someone open the door. She thought he was a freakin' genius. Then we finally get into the room and it's cold as Canada in there (a little nod to BCGal there - hope you're stayin' warm). In case you were wondering, Mythology is in the same exact room that my Poli Sci class was in last year. Anyways, now the professor is futzing around mumbling about the Feng Shui of the room.

Oh yes, people, she fa-lipped out over the placement of the podium in relation to the door. Moving on... She's got this bush of hair - charcoal and gray now (I'd say it used to be black, but she's in her late 40s now and it's fading) - and a long purple wool cape on. Off goes the cape to reveal a purple and orange wool floor length skirt, white longsleeve shirt, and a purple wool vest/cape thingy. All with fringe. And on the skirt, I should say handwoven wool. Oh, can't forget the long crystal hanging from - you guessed it - a purple wool string. Not one to judge on looks alone, I realize that the woman is smart - wool is warm, the room is cold. Gotcha. We settle in and she passes out the manuscripts ... I mean, the syllibus and first readings. Then she leads us into a five minute meditation.

I'll allow you a moment to recover from the shock of that.

Yeah, she's going to start every class with meditation. To relax our bodies and open our minds so that we may experience the myths. Don't get me wrong, I'm down with the whole meditation thing - hell I did it in the airport while I was waiting to board in Baltimore. But I have a hell of a hard time relaxing my mind, body, and soul in a molded plastic chair with metal rods running across my butt cheeks.

In the syllabus, she spelled women correctly. By the time we got into going over the packet, I fully expected it to be spelled "wimmin." There are... six guys in the class. One of them dumped the class at the break. I've never taken a women's studies class before, but from the sounds of it, this might count. We're going to learn about the GODDESSES within us... oh, and a couple of Gods, too. But the Goddesses surround us and we should embrace them. She even admits in the syllabus that this class is going to have a heavy pro-female spin.

So the whole time she's reading the course outline (week by week, assignment by assignment for the entire fuckin' semester), she's never pausing in the center of the room. In fact, she sits on the edge of the desk, off center. (Again, the Feng Shui of the room prevents her from normal movements.)

Okay, for all the... uniqueness that she possesses, she's actually kinda cool. The assignments are pretty straighforward and I've already started my final paper outline. Sort of. Okay, I asked her about two topics I'm considering and she okay'ed them both. But for someone who usually hammers out a B paper the day it's due, to have the idea already in place is pretty good, don't you think?

Tonight is PhotoShop class. Hopefully this guy will be a nerd or something less wacky.

Oh, and news on the homefront: My cousin Jake was takin' Lexie to school and came across a couch. Em is looking for a new couch. Jake took said found couch to Em and she loves it. Em is now getting rid of futon that she had been using as a couch. Said futon used to be my bed. Hmm... Jessie needs bed... *Lightbulb!* I GET MY FUTON BACK!!! Yay for me! Most excellent. I can take back the airbed, sheets, and blanket I bought on Sunday and get me some purple towels! Double yay!

0 comments so far

last stop | next stop

Breaking Up - July 20, 2006
Chugga Chugga Woo Woo - June 14, 2006
Dammit.Janet. - May 31, 2006
Zee Tee-Vee - May 25, 2006
Tra-la tra-la - May 07, 2006

mind the gap